You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Measles is a Normal Childhood Illness so Please Stop Calling it a Deadly Disease!

in #vaccines7 years ago

My kids are not vaccinated. My primary concern with it is that since measles, mumps, rubella, etc. aren't exactly around for them to catch as young children, what might the impact be should they contract those illnesses as adolescents and adults. Do you have some good information about that?

Sort:  

When my children are around 17/18, I plan to have their titres drawn (blood) to see if they have antibodies for measles, mumps and rubella. (I know they already have chickenpox antibodies.)

I have heard a couple of unvaccinated adults say that they don't remember ever having those illnesses, but their blood-work showed that they had indeed been exposed and built up antibodies.
My guess is that those live vaccines might have shed from other recently vaccinated children, and the illnesses were so mild with so few spots, that their parents didn't recognize them.
(p.s. when my daughter had chickenpox after playing several times with friends who had it, she only displayed the fever and one single spot, but the fever came at exactly the right time predicted by the known incubation period.)

So -- you may find out that they are good once they are adults.

If it turns out that my girls don't have immunity to rubella, I will look into getting them the homeopathis nosode version of protection from rubella, only because that would protect their unborn children during pregnancy. (Rubella is the one known to most likely harm unborn babies.)

As to measles and mumps, it is more difficult to endure during adulthood. It is still rare for severe problems to happen in adulthood, although the chances of problems are much greater than in childhood. For example, mumps is more likely to cause some infertility in males if the testes swell up, but it is almost always partial and temporary infertility, perhaps lasting up to a year.

That's a great idea to check the titres. Thanks for the info. I've heard of the nosode protection but had forgotten about it. I know that measles eats up a lot of vitamin A (hence the side effect of blindness in malnourished children), so I guess if any of us gets it as an adult then we'd have to be sure to dose up on the cod liver oil. Mumps would not be fun... Hopefully the titres will show antibodies :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60327.79
ETH 2348.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53