You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witness Vote Removed: @nextgencrypto. It’s a Shame that Some Individuals are Flagging Content for Mere Difference of Opinion.

in #vaccines7 years ago

@kafkanarchy84, thanks for speaking out about this and I want to emphasize that, like you, I'm not an anti-vaxxer but I'm very much a supporter of free speech (even for those I disagree with), investigative journalism, and against censorship.

I think it's important to note that @dbroze is a known journalist and author, we should welcome diversity to the platform.

I can't speak for Derrick but journalist often interview people from a wide spectrum and just because you do an interview with them does not mean that you endorse everything the interviewee has to say.

I think it's always healthy to question authority in all its forms and we should openly debate and express out opinions.

Thank you for having the backbone to step up in defense of freedom of expression.

much respect

Sort:  
... I'm not an anti-vaxxer but I'm very much a supporter of free speech (even for those I disagree with), investigative journalism, and against censorship.

That's it!

First of all, thank you for supporting freedom of expression, dialogue, and debate here. It means a lot more to me than I can probably put into words.

I don’t generally use the term “anti-vaxxer” because it’s used to marginalize individuals and kills conversation. I feel the same about the term “pro-vax” and “pro-vaxxer,” generally.

My son is not vaccinated. My wife and ai have made that decision as individuals and parents and are confident we are doing what is best for our son. That said, I am not religious about it. That is my number one fear, that I would be, about anything.

If I am making some kind of mistake, or not thinking things through properly/am unwaware of critical evidence, I want to know. That is part of why I so highly value hearing different viewpoints.

I think the discussion has become both intentionally and unintentionally) polarized in some severely toxic ways.

But yeah, as you said, Derrick is a well-known figure as is Dr. Wakefield, of course, whether one thinks that’s for better or for worse. And one of the things I’ve always enjoyed about this platform is the openness and dignity of discussions and debates.

Strangely enough, I like that @berniesanders is using his voice in the market here on Steem. I just disagree and think it’s detrimental to the platform, so I’m using mine back.

The respect is mutual. Thanks again for kicking ass!

Great point - I am about as anti-vax as it's possible to get, but I'm also anti-flat earth too and I try to unflag their flagged posts because most of all I'm anti - censorship.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43