John Oliver on Vaccines

in #vaccines7 years ago

With the number of antivax posts I have seen on Steem, I might need to do some heavy policing of the comments here.

Either way, an excellent overview of how the science works.

Sort:  

Thank you. All the antivax posts on here that are just plan wrong is astounding!
There is a very good episode of the podcast Sawbones: The Marital Tour of Misguided Medicine about vaccines. http://www.maximumfun.org/sawbones/sawbones-vaccines

I'm not a real fan of just posting a video someone else made and just adding a little text to it.

BUT for me this topic is just too important and I'll gladly resteem it.
Anti-Vaxxine movements are getting dangerously big in some areas and while I don't think most of those who are already anti-vaxx will be receptive to reason it might at least give someone who's uncertain if he should vaccinate his children a reason to do so.

There's a reason people were thankful for every kid that managed to grow old when there were no vaccinations and it's not just because the hygiene was worse or they didn't have as much food as kids today. For me refusing to get your kids or yourself a vaccination really is a luxury problem nowadays since you just don't see someone close to you getting paralyzed by polio.

What really saddens me is how a general anti-science movement got an advocate who is one of the most powerful men in the world right now and innocent people are going to suffer because of it.

I agree with you there. I find the whole anti vaxxer movement thoroughly repellent, especially since they expand so much energy and time trying to convert people to their delusions

excellent overview as you said

I am glad you found it useful!

I wouldnt agree with many things he is saying, thats a basic mainstream view...I'm learning and investigating the issue for more than seven years and you should watch what this 60 experts are saying: https://go2.thetruthaboutvaccines.com/docuseries/replay/

I watched huge number of documentaries including this ones and the whole 15h series of the truth about cancer. More importantly is that it is proven dangerous, unreliable and its all peer reviewed. On top of everything I proved personally that my three kids are extremly healthy and I know several families with the vaccine damaged kids that are taking a huge burden because of this shit. Its a big business ...

So, your "research" consisted of watching documentaries... Also, do you actually have any peer reviewed research that you are referring to?

Also, I feel sorry for your children.

Our research is based on every aspect possible that matters and is related to this issue. It is difficult to write here about it in a few short comments, but basically where there is a risk, there must be a choice, simple as that.
Please, feel sory for yourself and not to my beautiful and healthy kids!!!

You mentioned that you have peer reviewed research. There is no need to reproduce it here. You just need to post a link to it.

As for where there is a risk... That is one of those statements that sounds meaningful, but completely fails even a moment's thought. There is risk everywhere.

As for your children, I wish them the best of luck. It seems like they will need it.

< rant >
I wish I could upvote you more than once. The proliferation of antivax bullshit is legitimately not only a public health hazard, but potentially a looming existential threat that could put the survival of the species at risk.

I reckon the Australian model of dealing with antivaxxers is probably the only workable one that preserves civil liberties (the right to be a fuckwit) while also minimising harm to the general population.
As in, "If you don't vaccinate your kids, don't expect the state to support you with welfare or access to public schools, etc.".

What really fucking terrifies me is how antivax sentiment is on the rise, leading to small populations where diseases like measles can breed, mutate, and then variants of them can infect immunised populations who have no defence against the new strain, against which they are not immunised.
This, in combination with the huge increase in antibiotic resistant bacteria and the fact we are running out of viable antibiotics faster than we can develop new ones... Makes one afraid for the future.

That fucking cunt who faked results and published that bullshit paper (that was later retracted, but too late, the damage was done) which spuriously linked vaccines to autism should be put on trial, what he has done is nothing short of a gross crime against humanity.
< /rant >

I agree, and the one thing that bugs me about Steemit is the antivaxxers organising on it, have gotten attacked in the past when I downvoted antivaxxer posts before.

@nenad-ristic how do you downvote? I saw some antivaxxer posts and the comments were full of shit spreading like a disease, that's horrible.

Click on the flag in the top right corner. I normally mute ten as well

Yeah, i flagged some posts didn't mute anyone yet. Should i flag + mute or not mute and keep flaggin, I don't know whats more effective to sort out shit.

I would say just flag & mute, I find that doing more effort than that is just not worth it.

I did flag and mut someone already
A Trumpfan posted a video how another trumpfan beat up an old man protesting against trump. He called me a nazi after i flagged him, that i tried to mute him and that i am therefore against free speech lol

Well, that knod of thing happens way too often.

Every time I see an antivax post, as an immunologist.

I generaly just mute them. I am sure you get accused of being a shill all the time.

Oh yes. Muting always comes after the storm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.94
ETH 2763.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70