A peaceful place....... Edisto Beach, S.C.

in #vacation7 years ago

I suppose it's time to dip my toes and put a little piece of my mind out there for the steemit world to read. First I'd like to say thank you to the community for all that it has opened my eyes to including a following of over two hundred !?! I'm amazed at this number as I've not really done a whole lot of posting. I know I've said it before, but I'm more of a surfing, info seeking, people meeting, habitual commenting type personality here in the steemit community. Nothin' wrong with this ,as I've been told, but a post here and there shouldn't do anything more than let me know how my thoughts are being looked upon.

For the past couple of days I've been meandering up and down a beach with my family just walking about, holding a hand here, carrying one of my little ones there, looking for sharks teeth and enjoying not having to be somewhere I don't particularly want to be. A beach is one of my favorite places to "visit" and although I'm not the type to want to live on a beach year round, it's a special place for me. I was out walking with my wife looking for sharks teeth earlier while Nana stayed with the napping kids and I had not a care in the world. The sand on my feet, the wind in my hair, the sun on my face and my wife's hand in mine. A perfect time it was.

We did find three sharks teeth and watched many a pelican fly just over our heads. It was somewhat over cast and the sun didn't beat us up too much if at all. Again, a perfect moment and environment. Almost as though my wife mysteriously programmed the computer simulation just this way for the two of us ;) We walked and talked and then walked and didn't talk just enjoying the silence and the noises that nature provided. It's moments like these when you know it's right, when you don't have to say anything and can just be as one together. Maybe a look, glance or soft touch is worth more than a thousand words in these moments we all share with that special someone.

I did live in Charleston, S.C. for a while and visited Folly beach every weekend. We used to fish there at the end where a river dumped into the ocean. I caught many a shark and ray at this particular place and had some great times there with friends. Those days were before the family. We were out yesterday here and a pod of wild dolphin were cruising through behind a big ole' shrimp boat coming in from a laborious day out on the water. My son thought that was amazing until the fighter jets ran their course over the house shaking the roof! Now that was exciting for all of us. It's been a fun time here. So much so that I've yet to break out my Weller and fix two fingers neat and just kick back to a moment for myself........... maybe tonight with a macanudo ;) Take care and I wish you all well my steemian family. What a wonderful place we have here.

Sort:  

Indeed, what a wonderful place and it must have felt awesome taking strolls up and down that beach with ya fam. One can certainly refuel the creative mind taking such measures. So kudos to you my friend

Lucky you finding shark teeth :)

Yes Ma am! It's always somewhat of a competition for us. So far we have 25! Not a bad haul. My wife is winning thus far with 15 and myself with 10 :( I'm gonna catch her though.......... few more days left! Ole' hawk eye she is!

She will win, us women usually do or we will give you a hard time lol :)

Haha! She's tough and probably will but I'm gonna give her a run for her money!

I wouldn't waste your energy you will loose lol :)

I'm glad you are having such good time with your family! Sounds serene...

I once knew a man screennamed stillwater.... made an epic alternative cancer post. Is this you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84