这几天crowdin 上翻译和等待Utopian审核和点赞的经历和畅想

in #utopian6 years ago

听说Utopian已经有一段时间了,但之前一直以为这是适合那些电脑高手玩的,对编程白痴的我是几天前才真正开始关注并试着去了解看自己能做什么。在咱们steemit社区朋友的介绍下,自己也看了在Utopian 里写作比较成功的Rosa 的一些文章,觉得翻译应该是自己可以很快就做出贡献的地方。于是在粗略了解大概流程后,马上着手去crowdin 注册并领了项目开始翻译。

https://crowdin.com/

https://utopian.io/

注:@rosatravel & nationalpark 都有对如何在crowdin上注册和Utopian上写文章有清楚的步骤说明,都非常地到位和详细,如果你有感兴趣可以上去看。特别是@rosatravel, 她做得非常地成功和出色。

也是自己运气好,自己盲目情况下选的头两个项目都是OPEN SOURCE 工程。所以在翻译好后,都很顺利在Utopian 上审核通过确认。虽然在提交文件前,Utopian 网站有提醒说我提供的信息似乎没有其他人的丰富,这样会影响到点赞的结果,并问我是否要再修改后再发?我没有听从系统的建议就这样把两篇文章在同一天发了出去。然后又开始埋头发其他的项目…

当我又翻译好其他的两份项目后打算在Utopian 上发布的时候,才发现这两个项目根本在GITHUB 上面找不到。也就是说它们不是OPEN SOURCE 工程,Utopian是不会接受和支持的。虽然说我也高兴我在这两个项目上的贡献,但也同时希望我的劳动成果能被奖励。这时候我才知道,以后在要翻译前必须先到Utopian 上去查寻,确定是OPEN SOURCE 工程 才接。 当然如果你愿意做义工或有大把时间愿意花在无偿的翻译上,那你可以不需要考虑这个问题。

在Utopian 上发布文章后会同步到steemit 上。但文章是否得到Utopian 机器人点赞还得等他们审核。审核的结果大概有三种:

  1. 直接通过,恭喜,那么你就耐心等机器人点赞。一般是两天后。我的第一篇文章就幸运地一次性通过。

  2. 如果有什么问题小问题,审核员会通知你问题所在,得先把问题改善然后才能被通过。 我的第二篇文章就被要求把两个tag (whalepower & cn)拿掉后才被通过。

  3. 这是最不愿意看到的结果,就是你的文章没被通过。我到目前为止还没经历过这事。因为我贡献的是翻译。我想除非我随便把之前翻译过的两个不是OPEN SOURCE的文章强行发出去,估计就是这个结果。 当然啦,我是不会做这种事的。

现在大家可能会问我的两篇通过的文章到底得到多少赞?我现在就可以告诉你。每篇大概5 块多一点。这比起我们现在每个人的平均点赞已经多很多了。可是既然是讨论经济效益,就不得不把投入和产出做个对比。

我平时普通的文章一般写作不会超过1 小时,有些(摄影比赛)只有几分钟。现在一般收益是1-2块。我在crowdin 上的翻译,看工程的大小,我已经完成的翻译都是3-4 小时而且是很集中完成。加上在Utopian 上发布也需要十几分钟。5 块的收益算是很小的产出。这似乎不是一项可以立马见到收益的投资(记住时间就是金钱)。

这时候才听说在Utopian上点赞的机器人主要是看你写的篇幅,而不是你到底翻译多少。有的人只翻译了几十条(依照我的经验,大概几分钟的时间),可是在写文章的时候是洋洋洒洒一大篇,原来他们把在翻译时候的每个步骤都拍下来,作为翻译证明。可同时拉长篇幅。结果他们得到的点赞是我的几十倍。而我不知道,每个工程都翻译几百条,花几个小时,由于没有步骤拍摄证明,所以文章篇幅非常短,导致点赞比例很小。

所以,有兴趣在这里发展的朋友可以考虑在写文章的时候尽可能放入多一点的内容。把翻译过程的步骤都拍下来作为证据, 哪怕不要翻译很多都可以让你可能收到很丰厚的收入。我开始误以为Utopian和crowdin 是连在一起的,他们会看你到底花多少时间做多少贡献来决定点赞比重,可实践上他们是分开的。所以篇幅非常重要。这也是在实践中学到的教训。

问我是否会继续在crowdin 上翻译然后在Utopian 上发文章,可能,但必须是我很有时间的情况,而且我会记住拍照片,尽可能把篇幅拉长,虽然觉得有点在欺骗系统,可是想让自己得到更多的点赞比重有什么错呢?只要他们的点赞条件没有改,你可能不需要付出很多时间也可能得到很丰厚的回报。我也希望Utopian 能够帮忙推动steemit 的发展,只有steemit 有前途,大家最后的付出才会更有回报不是吗?

stock-photo-thinking-women-with-question-mark-on-white-background-121961872.jpg

image credit- pixabay.com

Sort:  

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

我说怎么最近你们一群人全在翻译。。。

抱大腿唉

我去尝试翻了一点你翻的那个。。。

哈哈,还是你一个人把它翻完吧。。。。我英语不行。

我把它翻到50%了。不介意的话我连你的一切发上utopian, 收益跟你分?

一起发吧,我那一点点不值得分的。我还没搞懂这个乌托邦到底是干嘛的。。。是不是任何开源项目都可以啊,还是要和steem相关的开源项目才行?

我也搞不太懂,反正我已经发了,到时候分收益

是呀,也就这大腿草根好抱了

谢谢你,一定要注册一个试试看~

不客气。希望对你们有帮助

篇幅上有点不明所以,但只要是做出贡献的都应该被鼓励。

你可以去看看Rosa 是怎么写的,你就知道怎么把篇幅拉长了。

不喜欢翻译个东西还要贴过程
那我原来做汉化岂不是要出书了

呵呵,如果纯粹想多点点赞的可以做。否则是没必要。

@rosatravel 这个用户不存在诶,是不是写错了呢?

对不起,最后少了个S。@rosatravels

Hi everyone, thanks for your post @susanli3769. I will write in English as it is much faster as I have a lot to reply because of the unfairness that has been happening. Regarding the translation project, I had my 'bad times' because in the beginning, for 3 or 4 transltions, Utopian just gave me 1% and 3%. I didn't complain and just let it be. And also like you, I translated a few closed sources and got rejected. So in total, I contributed a lot of work and didn't get rewarded. Only recently in the last few translations, things started looking positive on my end. The bot didn't know me in the beginning. Only after many many tries, it started noticing my contribution, so that was a bit frustrating but I continued.

So when I began, I was very enthusiastic and did all the translation to 100% for all projects meaning that I worked my head off to finish the translation and submitted it. When I came to about the 4th to 8th translations, regarding translation, I only submitted the crowdin link for them to check and I didn't know what to write in my Utopian posts, so I ended up writing 'tutorials' and 'calling out for translators'. That was the only way I could write longer posts. Then elear came in and told me he doesn't want all that tutorials and calling out for translators. He wants the actual translation be contributing our actual translations. So I then made a change in my post writing and started doing screen shots of the actual translation and went into my translation workplace to take out all the strings I translated and pasted onto the post. In my view, this is a waste of time. But that was what I was told to do. So you notice from then on, I stopped calling out translators and just put the chinese translations up there.

Today another moderator came in to tell me to take out all the 'chinese texts' out. They are contradicting each other. So I then replied, why not just let us submit the link and you guys can go and check our work there, so that we don't have to spend 2 hours doing print screens, and exporting the chinese translation onto the post. It doesn't help us and it doesn't help the moderators, and only for the bot to see that we did our work I suppose.

So I asked them if they could write out more specific rules for us translators:

  1. How many strings is accepted in the translation post? Some people got away with translating very little and getting high rewards and some people translated pages which I saw a girl doing and getting little rewards. Something is wrong with the reward giving.

  2. They say it is length of post that counts for voting. But it is inconsistent. It is all out there for people to see. Some posted very little and got high rewards while some posted a lot screen shots got little rewards. I actually got high rewards recently but not before that.

I am in touch with them closely to see what they want. I can understand why people want to pull out of translations. The actual translation takes too much time to be rewarded less than $10.

Thanks, Rosa. Current system doesn’t work perfectly. Noted that you are working with them trying to improve it. To be honest, if it continues to be like this, I don’t think a lot people would stay. You are right, translation is very time consuming. If they judge length of the post, and also punish higher rank and followers, it won’t go too far. We want utopia and steemit to grow and thus we care. As otherwise we can simply give up. It’s the most easiest thing to do. Thanks

To tell you the truth, when I began and got about $3 or $8 for my translation work, I was ready to quit. But I continued to finally get to what they want now in translation, but they are changing again. I really feel for other translators who are involved in Crowdin because of my influence but I feel bad for them for the little reward they are getting.

Maybe what we can do is to let them decide the rule and tell us before we move on. In the mean time, you can try writing tutorials and Blog about Open Source Project. I find those categories much easier than translation. It is more rewarding because you don't need to keep talking to the moderators.

Thanks, Rosa. Will look into it too.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by susanli3769 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00