My Utopian.Io Moderator Application.

in #utopian7 years ago (edited)

>


Hello, 

my name is Sebastian R. Bacia (@fuzeh) I'm a student based in Poland as well as a steem enthusiast and I would like to apply for a position as a moderator of the following sections:

  • Translations 
  • Tutorials
  • Video-Tutorials

A bit more about myself:

I was born and raised in Poland, I didn't really have the perfect childhood as i come from a broken home. I moved quite a lot and began to isolate myself from the outside world, falling in love with music and the internet. Because the majority of the stuff I was interested in was in English, i picked up the language pretty fast, mostly from watching a lot of TV shows, reading different articles or forums in English and simply listening to music. 

Although a lot has changed, my isolation from the world at a young age now seems like a blessing in disguise, i travel a lot, talk to a lot of foreign people on daily basis as well as translate open source projects to my native language. All this wouldn't be possible without me learning English from such a young age.

Why me?:

  • I personally believe I would be a great addition to the moderators' team since there is only one more polish moderator who’s a dear friend of mine and goes by the name of @jestemkioskiem. I could be of much assistance to him in checking and approving Polish translation as there are a lot of them. Naturally I wouldn't limit my work to only reviewing translations in this language.


  • My English is at the c1/c2 level, Around two years ago I have taken exams at my school that would place me in the higher bracket of c1 (i came around 2 points short of c2).



  • I contribute very frequently as I have a lot of free time on my hands and I don't think there is a better way to spend it than at perfecting my English skills as well as contributing to some amazing project and maybe in the near future moderating for the utopian.io community.


  • I have some knowledge of graphic design as well as video-making since I used to make banner designs as well as other types of graphic designer  for Youtube users and youtube videos about graphic design most of my videos are private or deleted at this point, but I still have the Portfolio


I have also decided to review one of the posts myself as an example


Link to The Post


My response would be:

Your contribution cannot be approved. See the Utopian Rules.

Your translation is of a very low quality, containing many errors and mistakes that may or may not include: machine translations, grammar errors, typos, misspellings, code translations and others. Examples:

Na - Zawsze odrzucany Should be Wł. - Zawsze Odrzucane as it is clearly visible from the context that "On" doesn't stand for "On top of", but "On" as in, active.


SagePay Direct kart is a clear machine translation, "Karty" goes before "SagePay Direct karty" otherwise it doesn't make any sense 


Poczta w Australii Is incorrect as it means "Postal office in Australia" but the source language is clearly reffering to the company "Australia Post"


Please, make sure you read the rules carefully before you contribute again, as all contribution rejections are now indisputable and we don't allow users to correct their mistakes.

You can contact us on Discord.

utopian-moderator  


Big thank you to everyone, who took the time to read the entire post, I really appreciate that.


Sebastian Bacia.









Sort:  

This is an amazing contribution in terms of your qualifications but also the formatting, flawless English skills and the detailed review of an already submitted post (which, thanks to you, will now be rejected). As we're currently going through internal team changes though, you will need to patiently wait for the decision. I will message you as soon as the changes are settled and I'm ready to bring a new moderator to my team.

Thank you very much for the kind words, I'll be patiently waiting to hear back from you again.​

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41