Part 2 of 2 - 1190 words - 54% to 100% - Esperanto (EN > EO) Translation for Steemit

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Project Details

This is part 2 of the translation project of Steemit from English to Esperanto. Esperanto has a vibrant and enthusiastic community on-line, and I'm sure Esperanto speakers would love a place to use their language with a proper interface.

Links related to the translation

Source Language

It is a translation of English to Esperanto. I have studied French, and sometimes I use that as a backup source language in my translations to Esperanto, to make sure I get the proper English meaning.

Translated Language

Esperanto.

Esperanto is a constructed language, invented about 130 years ago by a eye doctor in what is now Poland (then Russia), L.L. Zamenhof. Zamenhof intended the language to be simple to learn, but nuanced enough to be used for art. He intended it to be used to bring disparate communities together with something in common. (Much like Utopian and Steemit.) Nowadays, Esperanto has its own original periodical publications, poetry & literature, music, Wikipedia, and so on.

Esperanto is a living language. Although it was invented more than a century ago, we have words for "Internet", "smartphones", and "operating systems". Since the advent of the Internet, this language has really hit its stride. Esperanto has a strong and well-developed Duolingo following, with over 1 Million learners, which is supported by the leading Esperanto grammarians. The Esperanto Wikipedia rivals many national language Wikipedias for depth and thoroughness in many important subjects.

Esperanto is a phonetic language. Thus, every letter is pronounced only one way. The Esperanto alphabet uses most of the letters in the Latin character set (like you're reading right now) except it uses 6 extra letters to make a few extra phonetic sounds. For example, the character circumflex-C "ĉ" makes the "ch" sound as in chocolate.

Throughout my translations, I have tried to be grammatically and technically sound. Esperanto has a few comprehensive works on-line that I am trying to conform to.

Number Of Words

Number of words translated on this contribution: 1190 words (Jan 15-16).

I counted 92 translated strings, but they were quite dense.
Esperanto1.jpg
Esperanto2.jpg

Proofread Words

No words have been proofread yet. I have contacted external proofreaders to check my translations. However, in the past, I have translated quite a bit of the Wikipedia interface, so I based much of the translations on what I had previously done, and had been accepted elsewhere.

Previous translation on the same project

This is part 2 of 2, and completes the Steemit translation to Esperanto.
Number of words translated on the project before this report (if any): 1617



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @yekrats I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Good evening friend, where can I look for information about that language? I find it very interesting. Thank you.

Hi @danielaperche It would depend on your native language. It seems like you post in English and Spanish? If so, the Esperanto Duolingo courses are highly regarded! See Duolingo in Spanish to Esperanto and English to Esperanto. Also, another good resource for Esperanto in many, many languages is Lernu.net. Good luck!

Wow, that's so cool. Great work. Maybe I start learning.

Hard to believe, Esperanto is still in use :O

On DUOLINGO more than a Million have enrolled for a free Esperanto course. And on steemit you can find this language too!

Eble mi provos...

Smile.... 😀😀😀

Good night friends, this is a great post, 👍
Success @yekrats

Wow postingan luwarbiyasa

Upvoted and Follow you!

Nice post, follow back #vincentb @ take a look at my latest post when you get a chance.

Great work..

Bone! Ankaŭ mi volas kontribui al la traduka tasko. Mi provis, sed ne sukcesis. Mi jam eniris la paĝaron Esperanto Translation, kiun vi ĉi tie montris. Sed mi ne scias, kie mi trovas la dozirojn (files) por la traduko. Ĉu vi povas helpi?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55