You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Enhancing Steem's 'Proof of Stake' Model With A Process For Expiry/Renewal Of Witness Votes

in #utopian-io7 years ago

@ura-soul this is the first post of yours I have seen and it is very well written, organized and thought-out which is somewhat of a rarity here on Steem at the moment.

Additionally I think your idea is a great one and one that has a lot of importance for the community. I also agree with @lukestokes though that people will just implement auto-renew services so they don't have to manually renew witness votes which would defeat the purpose of the renewal system entirely.

I don't know what the right answer is, but I agree it is a problem and one that I would like to see addressed even though I am not a witness myself (though I have considered it!).

I have since read some of your other posts and have just cast my witness vote for you which bumped you up one spot :-) Please keep up the good work!

Sort:  

Greetings! Thanks for your kind words - I am some times hired to create technical documents for software projects and to design/build them, so I have a solid grounding in these kinds of tasks.

I think the idea of causing all witness votes to be reset for accounts that are inactive might be the more workable solution, but it all depends on the ability to prevent vote bots handling it automatically. At least the suggested changes will stop a decent percentage of the stale votes from persisting in the system as long as the detection rules for what counts as an inactive account are strict enough that vote bots won't be able to circumvent them.

Thanks a lot too for your witness vote, it's possible that jumping up that one place has pushed me over the breakeven point where the rewards from witnessing will roughly equal the rental fee I am paying for the server - woop! :)

I have followed you here to read more of your posts too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50