OPEN SOURCE BLOG #1: Test Disk And Data Recovery.

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

testdisk.jpg

Test Disk And Data Recovery


Github Link :-


https://github.com/cgsecurity/testdisk

What is Test Disk ?


Test Disk is an open source and powerful free data recovery software which is designed for the recovery of lost partitions and making non-bootable disks bootable again which is caused due to human errors or because some malicious or unwanted softwares.

It provides various advanced features to recover partitions and repairing hard drive partition table for various file systems with very deep level control of hardware functions and properties manipulations.

Why you should use Test Disk ?


There are various reasons why you should use test disk ,few of them are given below:-
1.)It very user friendly and designed in such a way that it has features that can be used by novices and experts.
2.)Before performing any operation on hard drive , first it scans all the data in a detailed manner about your hard drive and creates an log file of it through which you can understand the current status of your hardware.
3.)If you are not familiar with these kind of stuff then you take that log to an tech and this to repair your drive onsite without any delay.
4.)At each and every step it tells you about the operation risks and consequences.

Platforms Supported :-


Test Disk Supports No. of platforms and Operating systems.
1.)Windows (NT4, 2000, XP, 2003, Vista, 2008, Windows 7 (x86 & x64), Windows 10
2.)Linux,
3.)FreeBSD, NetBSD, OpenBSD,
4.)SunOS
5.)MacOS X and
6.)DOS

Supported File Systems :-


Test Disk can find lost partitions and recover data for all these types of File Systems:-

1.)Hierarchical File System
2.)JFS, IBM's Journaled File System
3.)Linux btrfs
4.)Linux ext2, ext3 and ext4
5.)Linux GFS2
6.)Linux LUKS
7.)Linux RAID md 0.9/1.0/1.1
8.)BeFS ( BeOS )
9.)BSD disklabel
10.)CramFS( Compressed File System)
11.)DOS/Windows FAT12, FAT16 and FAT32
12.)XBox FATX
13.)Windows exFAT

and the list goes on......

Features :-


Test Disk has No.of features that it can perform on hard disk drives in various conditions:-
1.)It can fix partition table and recover deleted partitions.
2.)Undelete files from FAT, exFAT, NTFS and ext2 filesystem easily without any hassle.
3.)Fixing Fat tables.
4.)Rebuild Boot sector (NTFS).
5.)Recover NTFS boot sector from backup.
6.)Can recover huge data from any supported file system.
7.)Custom querying and recovery of lost data.

For intresting and useful open source projects blogs,


Come And Join,
@vipinkumarvkrose



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  
Loading...

thanks man it is very useful information.

thanks for your appreciation man.

How can I restore my erased 4 TB Seagate Backup Plus External HDD which I deleted by mistake using the Ubuntu Disk Creator? By mistake, I put an Ubuntu OS Live CD on it. After that, I deleted that. I tried Gparted to restore it but it didn't work. I have been trying different things with Test Disk and have not been able to restore my external drive. I use it like a thumb drive but it is 4 TBs, as in 4,000 GB. I have been Googling about this and have been trying things since about the 20th of December of 2017 and I will continue to try my best to figure out this stuff and to live and learn and to share it all with the world as soon as I can figure it all out. Now, it's Tuesday, the 2nd of January of 2018. Oatmeal.

.

I want to know what the default partitions are for my 4TB Seagate Backup Plus external hard drive device here, and that may be Intel, and it may be Fat32 and NFTS. I am not too sure if I can fix my drive with just one partition or not. Sometimes, I can see that there may have been, originally, two partitions on my drive. There may have been maybe something like EFI. Maybe there was a Master Boot Record (MBR) as a POST or BIOS or something like a root or core of the drive but am not sure what kind of format they were originally before I put a Linux OS over it. Originally had about 700 GB of data on my drive before it was erased. But the Linux OS that recorded over my drive did not record, or I mean write, over all of my drive. Therefore, some of my data, the 700 GB out of 4 TB, should still be there and I think I can find some of it but am still trying to get the original partitions to come back but am not too sure how to do all of that but I am trying.

.

4 TB Drive

2018-01-02 Tuesday 5:40 PM PST CL
Oatmeal Joey Arnold L4OJ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91