You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Commercial Off-The-Shelf Availability

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Ya, I didn't realize it would post on steemit from utopian-io which is why the post isn't too informative. It's an open source mppt solar charge controller for lithium ion batteries. I'm looking into LiFePO4 chemistry batteries. This looks like a really well thought out controller but it is in development. I would like to use it though for my solar setup that I'm planning.

Sort:  

Cool, looks good. So open source means you'll be able to program / fine tune it yourself? If so could the charger be set up for lead acid batteries?

Yep, you can program it yourself. They even mention other possible applications including using it as a boost converter to to charge a 36V electric bicycle battery with a 12V solar panel. I'm not very familiar with the differences in algorithms for charging between lead acid and lithium ion, but I don't see why you couldn't write software to do that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34