You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More features to Steem Ultimate Editor!

in #utopian-io6 years ago

This:
https://github.com/tngflx/Steem-UltimateEditor/tree/master/src

Is based on this:
https://github.com/orthes/medium-editor-insert-plugin/tree/master/src

With no regards to references to original author or project, this is theft plain and simple.

Sort:  

I've updated the license for my project. I just hope one day I don't have to quote the creator of javascript too since I'm using js almost everyday, as it clearly stated it's an open source project. It's always great to see your offer to help some project backfires. Thanks for making it clearer what it feels like to help steemstem.

You should educate yourself on how open source works and why respecting OSS licenses matters, as one day your work might be used in a similar way.

And this is unrelated to steemSTEM, I just personally dislike seeing open source developers who worked hard on something getting zero credit in the clones based off their work. I adhere to professional standards and I expect others around me to do the same.

Don't forget to update your package.json too
https://github.com/tngflx/Steem-UltimateEditor/blob/master/package.json#L1-L16

By the way - Javascript is not a project but a standard (ECMAScript), so it's open but not open source. Implementations of this standard (usually inside browsers) might be open source and might be closed source, and while you don't need to quote the creator of Javascript everytime you write JS, you might need to reference the owner of a licensed Javascript engine if you happen to clone that into your project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89