You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Proposals For The Next Utopian BIWEEKLY 01/05/2018 4PM CET

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

I understand the whole purpose of these new regulations are aiming to increase quality content. However, I believe this will cause opposite effect. I believe, If we require twice as more work for half the prize, it will do nothing more than disencourage people

You can think this as classic boss and empoloyee relationship for usual business enviroment. Do you think employee's are tend to work harder and more efficiently If you make them work twice as long for half the salary?
For our case, let's consider a person who does translation, they might think that in order to get same amount of $upvote, now they have to work 4 times more because of the new regulations. This will either make them give up on the system or encourage them to do careless work. ( I am sure most of the people will try to do it faster to compensate their loss)

I still believe we should encourage quality content and eliminate low quality /careless posts, I just don't believe this is the way to do it. There was a reason why Utopian-io witness had it's name on the rise recently. I don't think we should take this away from its people.

and another example is that poor qualiyt content producers spend about 20-25 minutes on their translations by using automatic translating tools like google translate

but quality content producers spend about 1.5-2 hour per translation if you make this change

quality content producer will spend 3-4 hour for same work while poor quality translaters spending 40-50 minutes

Extra quality content producers will have to spend gradually more than poor quality content producers now

Such as;
Poor quality content user will only spend 20 minutes more on their post . However, quality content users will need to spend 2 hours extra for their posts.

@omersurer, @omeratagun

Sort:  

Hello All

I am from Turkey and currently I am doing my Chemical Engineering PhD in Montana State.

Since I do not have lots of spare time, I like to do 1 or 2 Turkish Translation per day. I like to make my time and utopian-io's vote worth so I spend some time on my translations, they usually takes 1.5 hour to 2 hour.

If you increase the threshold to 1000 words, I do not think I will have time for that. I cannot spend 4 hours on a translation and I do not want to translate in a rush just to get upvote.
I have 4 more friends with me here (are also in the Grad School with me), they are also doing 1-2 translations with me everyday

Also some of the strings has highly code structure, so to make everyone's effort worth, I translate around 600 words instead of 500.

I guess what I am trying to say is, I also believe it will cause you to lose some of the quality translators. I do not think I will have time to translate 1000-1200 words. I believe 500 words were just perfect amount for upvote / words.

You have something really good going here utopian, I hope it will not change !

Thats what i am talking about. Solution is not the lowering down the ratio of upvote but more restricted rules with same amount of payments.

Instead of working onto elect the abuser, i would love to see there is a tons of higher quality contribution gets the proper amount of work. I suggest my proposal here in this comments. Im so excited to see what community will say. Best wishes!

so good examples thank you very much :)

you all right

You are %100 true!

I personally agree with your standpoint, and want to add;
There are so many changes on the the rules as i figured out that the most significant changes are about contributors. Due to my understanding from utopian page, most of contributions are made under the ''translation'' title. Which means creating value via utopian.io is mostly related to contributions on translation. Here is only one chart on Dec and there are many more.
Pie Chart

No need to expant the example with chart...

As a contributor in translation section, i don't produce a content like a production machine. i do give a sufficient time around 120-150 mins, translate over thn 500 words and doing my best for a quality content...

Now we will face with fourfold-force for same amount of value.

Not everyone have time to double for a work. In my opinion if the aim is to increase the quality of contents, trying to take a longer time for a half price sounds demoralizing.

And it could be discouraging for many others.

Any way, with the name of Utopia, the project itself has a tremendous approuch to the Value Sharing.
But if there is a change about 200% on structure of a work/value sharing , it could be brutal for some quality content producer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46