How to Delegate Steem Power to Another User

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

thumbnails.jpg

Introduction


In this tutorial, I’m going to show you how to delegate steem power to another user.

Requirements


To delegate steem power, you should have, or know the following.

  • You should have a sizeable amount of steem vested in Steem Power for example to 500 Steem.
  • You cannot delegate Steem Power when you are powering down.
  • You can't power down delegated Steem Power.
  • You can cancel your delegation at any time, but it takes 7 days before you can use the Steem Power you undelegated.
  • You can not delegate Steem Power that is delegated to you.

Difficulty


This is an intermediate tutorial, but It's quite easy to understand. It involves a little bit of maths. I don't like maths and I was able to do this tutorial so that shouldn't be a problem for anyone. I have outlined a step by step process below and given you a video demonstration as an example.

Description

Step 1: Convert your Steem to Vests

  • Go to your browser and type in https://steemd.com/

  • Check out the number steem_per_mvests. In this example the steem per vest value is

stach1.PNG

  • Calculate (1,000,000 divided by steem_per_mvests) multiplied by the amount_of_STEEM_you_want_to_delegate.
    (1,000,000/488.368)x50 = 102,382.8104

  • Round up the number to 6 significant figures. That is, make sure you have 6 digits after the decimal point. Make sure you include all numbers even if they are zeros.
    102,382.8587=102382.810400


Step 2: Input your Details to the following link:
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=youraccount&delegatee=theiraccount&vesting_shares=N.NNNNNN%20VESTS

Input your details on the link below:

https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=youraccount&delegatee=theiraccount&vesting_shares=N.NNNNNN%20VESTS

  • Input your account name in place of "youraccount".

  • Input the account name of the person you want to delegate some Steem Power to in place of
    "theiraccount".

  • Input the number of vests you calculated in step one in place of "N.NNNNNN."

https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=tojukaka&delegatee=stach&vesting_shares=102382.810400%20VESTS

Step 3

  • Paste it into your browser.

stach.PNG

  • Click continue if everything is okay.

stach 2.PNG

  • Use your active key to log in.

stach 3.PNG

That is how to delegate Steem Power to another user. You may check your wallet/transfers or your steemd account to confirm the success.

Video Tutorial

I have included a Dtube and Youtube Link below as part two of this tutorial for those who prefer to watch videos, so that you can watch the demonstration of this tutorial on any platform of your choice.

I made a delegation to my benefactor in steemit-@stellabelle just for the purpose of this tutorial.

stellabelle.PNG

.

Dtube


Youtube


Please leave your question in the comment section if you do not understand any aspect of this tutorial.

Thank you very much.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Great post about delegation.
I am glad you put that advice to use active key.
Safety first.
Keep on steemit

Awesome post. It was very helpful. You have answered alot of my questions. Thanks.

@tojukaka I didn't now it was this easy!
Nice one there

You weren't the only one in that place @folly-panda . Never actually thought of the entire process involved. This really simplifies it..Thanks @tojukaka for the post.

Good to see you teaching others @tojukaka you have learned a lot since you joined us here on Steem. Keep up the good work. You should try to post more video vlogs on DTube. Its great to see what Steemians are up to over there in Africa via video. Take care and be safe @tojukaka

Wow!!! OMG!!!!!
You have been such a blessing to me since I came here. You are my benefactor here.
Thank you so much for all the love and support. I don't believe that I deserve all the support I get from you and it pushes me to do more to try to earn it. It also gives me strength to help others.

I came to this platform with nothing but a brain, an android phone, a broken heart and the ability to learn.

Today I have the gained to much in finances, relationships and skill. Now I have the opportunity to help others with the knowledge I have acquired here. This is priceless to me

Thank you so much sir. I'm grateful.

I'll surely post more videos on dtube

I'm currently working with @ejemai of @stach to build offices, physical hotspots for Steem. In Nigeria electricity and internet is a fundamental problem. To some people, It is luxury.
That's why we would be offering it for free at all @stach locations. Steemians can have a place for meet ups and do their businesses there.

I also have plans to use this platform to empower and educate folks that are at a disadvantaged position in life.

There are many ways steem can be used to make the world a better place and improve people's lives.

Thank you once again @thejohalfiles. Thank you.

Very true @tojukaka.. We ate in this together.. See you later.

@thejohalfiles is worth following and to learn more from. People like us always watch out for the comments from you that alters ones steem power. You're such a blessing..

Hi @thejohalfiles . I have been following many of your comments for several months and always go back to your blog to see if you wrote something. You do a great job in commenting, and helping others succeed on the platform, that I think it would be good to see some great posts from you too.

I am not sure if you heard about me @gold84 or have came across any of my recent chapters I posted about the 11 chapter full steemit guide I have created for minnows, new visitors on steemit, new users of the steemit community, to help them learn as much as possible and as fast as possible about Steemit and the steem blockchain, to help them see what they can do for the platform and how to add value to people and steemit, and thus help them make their way here.

I really think your feedback on the full steemit guide will be very helpful, with all your experience in the platform as an early adopter.

Here is: Chapter 8 of 11: Learning about "How Making Connections & Relationships with Smart and Creative People helps make our way on steemit and make steemit a better place"
https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@gold84/chapter-8-of-11-learning-about-how-making-connections-and-relationships-with-smart-and-creative-people-helps-make-our-way-on

Looking forward to hear your thoughts!

Regards, @gold84

Thanks for sharing this post

Thanks for the tutorial. I will have to bookmark it for future use. What do the terms "power up" and "power down" mean?

This an awesome lesson am gona keep this one thank you for helping

Toju, Toju, Toju.....you're so amazing!! Thanks for this in-depth infoshare.

There are still alot of things to learn from steeemit
This is amother one today
I will keep it in my books
Thanks

I just dey see you every where

nice post please vote my comment, because your vote is very valuable to me

hey bro, I really would have loved to upvote your comment. I do upvote comments but coming out like this is not the right way to earn an upvote. Your reputation is low. Your comment is 'spammish'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65709.71
ETH 2614.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69