Vhost Manager v1.0

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Vhost Manager: Command Line tool

Recently i had to start a new web project, and like most people, i like the luxury of having to access my app on the browser with a domain name as such http://mysite.local. So i created a virtual host on my machine. I found that it took about 20 minutes of my time. What if we had a tool that could reduce the time to less than a minute, so we can just focus on building our apps and not worry too much about configurations? That's what this project addresses.

Vhost-manager is a command line tool that allows you create virtual hosts in seconds.

Installation

Download the project with composer

composer global require therealsmat/vhost-manager

Requirements

  • PHP must be installed on your machine
  • This package is only for ubuntu users

Usage

This package has two major commands.

  • To list all sites on your machine, run ./vhost sites
  • To create a new site, run ./vhost new:site. You will be prompted to provide
  1. Site name (preferred domain name)
  2. Site's public directory.(Check the github read me for more information)

By default, vhost manager uses Port 80. It also used the current directory as the projects domain directory

Technology Stack

This package was built in php using the popular symfony/console .

Roadmap

In a very near future,

  • Other directories can be used instead of the current working directory.
  • Ports can be changed.
  • Other operating system will be taken into consideration

How to contribute?

  • Clone the repository
  • Create a new branch
  • Send a Pull Request with the new features.

You can send me a mail [email protected]



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

@therealsmat, Approve is not my ability, but I can upvote you.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @therealsmat I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68636.49
ETH 3719.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75