Analyzing the Credit/Runtime of your BOINC applications

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

The Idea

About three weeks ago @nexusprime presented his script to easily fetch your BOINC projects data and I thought:

"Hey what a great idea, let's look which srbase application runs best for me".

At first I used Excel for this, but wasn't content with the necessary effort to analyze each project. Soon I decided it would be best to just write my own tool to analyze which application has the best Credit/Second ratio.

The Realization

I went for C++ and the resulting files and executables are in their GitHub Repo. Please note that this is my first C++ project and I would love to get some input on optimizing and speeding up my code.
As for now the different application types are represented by structs. I would be happy to hear some arguments for and against this solution or maybe a comparison with an object oriented approach.

Usage

To use the tool for Linux just download BOINC_TaReA from the "bin" folder and execute it from the shell as following:
./BOINC_TaReA [nexusprime's PullTasks.sh Output File]

For Windows download BOINC_TaReA_win64.exe from the "bin" folder and execute it from the command line (press the windows key, type "cmd", open it and navigate with cd PATH\TO\FOLDER into the download folder). To execute type:
BOINC_TaReA_win64.exe [nexusprime's PullTasks.sh Output File]

Example

An example output will look like this (my srbase values):
TaReA_screenshot.png

Analysis

As you can see it does already sort the entries according to their Credit/RunTime. But be aware of the number of values used. With only one entry the best Credit/RunTime application in this example has a rather low informative value.
You should also keep in mind that some application types may not have as many workunits available as others. So that, when limiting your BOINC installation, you may run out of tasks.

I hope this program helps you optimize your BOINC RAC and maybe add some points to your Gridcoin magnitude. As for me, I won't change anything on my srbase configuration as both my main applications are pretty similar in their credit distribution.

Gridcoin Logo
Image source



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Nice work!

Make sure you check that your program is also compatible with YOYO. Its task page returns different columns. I had to write a secondary script to handle it.

Hey @theissen I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

You got a 1.86% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @theissen!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Can you please write the source of the image?

The Gridcoin Logo or the Screenshot? The Screenshot is my own and the Gridcoin Logo is from the official Gridcoin website Gridcoin.us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63574.15
ETH 3404.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54