Building a Hero Animation and an Application Drawer in Dart's Flutter Framework

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

What Will I Learn?

  • You will learn how to implement a Drawer in Flutter
  • You will learn how to use multiple files in a Flutter project
  • You will learn how to make use of a Hero Animation
  • You will learn how to import and make use of assets in a Dart/Flutter project

Requirements

Difficulty

  • Intermediate

Description

In this video tutorial, we look at a bunch of different concepts inside of the Flutter Framework. We look at hero animations, application drawers, how to import and use locally stored Image files and how to split a project into multiple files and modules. Our application makes use of a simple routing system and is connected to an application drawer that is visible on the home page. This application drawer lets us navigate from the home page to any other page in the application by way of the route system. This drawer also has an about object field which displays a small box with information regarding the development of the application.

There are three different pages in this application; each of the pages has a hero widget in the middle with a hero Widget with a image embedded in it. Each page also resides in its own namespace and module file. The Hero Widgets of each of our pages have different sizes and shapes which is what helps to creates the hero animation. In Flutter a hero widget allows the user to pass an object from one page to another in a persistent manner. In this way we can make our image look like its transforming from one page to the next without it being re-rendered.

The source code for this project can be found here

Video Tutorial

Curriculum



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @tensor I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Hey @tensor I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Sorry for the inconvenience, the tutorial looks great! Keep up the good work!

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for taking the time to moderate the post personally. I really appreciate it. I am sorry if I caused any issues earlier when I DMed you.

No problem, that's what we're for. Just remember that you can put your trust in our moderators as well. If they fail you - feel free to contact the higher-ups!

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

  • The video is unavailable.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Yeah, I just fixed it. The old video had some errors and I had to remove it from youtube so that I could add this fixed version.

Can you get on discord or please resubmit the video into the review pool?

you always have great content

Thanks, I enjoy putting out the content so if people like it then I am happy.

How could I not? You're doing what I'd like to do some day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95