You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing SteemAX Auto-Upvote Exchange

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Thanks @learnelectronics for making a valuable open source contribution to the ecosystem for Steem et al. I think the SteemAX code is off to a solid start. I'm happy to review and score it.

There is one aspect of your UI mockup that did not effect my scoring, but that I still think is important note. For the field highlighted below, the label 'Active Posting Key' could easily be misread or misunderstood to be requesting the user's active key where I think you just meant to indicate a posting key that is currently valid.


Since clarity is important both for security/privacy of accounts as well as the reputation of the project I suggest a change to this wording in any future mock ups or prompts. The best alternative for the long run may be to incorporate a trusted identity layer like SteemConnect instead of collecting keys directly.

I think this project is a good idea and that some SteemIt users are clamouring for a tool like this. It's encouraging to see your progress so far and the commit history reflects growth and improvement already. I did feel there were a few places in the code that did not follow some best practices. For example some functions are long, complex or take up to seven arguments and could hopefully be refactored.

These are small code quality issues that can improve over time. You can be mindful of them to score even higher in the future.

Another great thing about your contribution was the amount of research and effort that went into understanding the problem and coming up with a solution. The Steem space and its supporting libraries can be a daunting place to figure out how to do things and use API's. You've done very well at this and I scored you highly in this area.

Great start on a project with potential. You've got my personal upvote and best wishes for the voting round.

Sort:  

Thank you @tdre! I appreciate your feedback. It's this kind of feedback that makes me like utopian.io so much. :) I was aware of the "active posting key" verbiage and accidentally let the old image slip through. FIXED! I also have plans to utilize SteemConnect for authentication purposes and although I had included a "Future Plans" section in my GitHub README, I managed to forget to include it in this post. FIXED!

Future Tasks
There's a lot that still needs to be done to bring SteemAX to fruition. The very next step is to complete the Memo ID authentication process. Next, will be to research the possible use of SteemConnect as an alternative to storing private posting keys. The front end of SteemAX will utilize Steem-JS to fetch account info and process eligiblity requirements before being submitted to the back-end, a task that is practically it's own development project.

Thank you for recognizing the amount of work I put into this. I really wanted my first go at utopian to be a good one so I hope I hit the mark. I look forward to collaborating with fellow Utopians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87