Raising the reputation 'Grey-point' autohide

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Components

Limit Phishing reach through community action

Proposal

There is a problem on the platform with phishing links and there is a pretty easy manual community fix to at least help limit the damage they can do.

Proposal Raise the auto-hide point from 0 to 15 Reputation

Currently, the auto grey point (auto-hide) a comment is Reputation 0 which requires a lot of VP to bring it down as it works in the opposite way to building reputation. What if instead it was 15 before the autohide function kicked in?

Benefits

Most people will be much more careful around a greyed out comment as it is a warning sign and requires additional steps to view it.

Most phishing accounts are very low rep accounts as they don't last long before being caught so aren't worth building.

With my Rep (70) and my SP (~18,000), I can take a 25 rep down to 15 with 1-2 full flags. This would mean that with minimal VP, every comment they make after is automatically hidden, nulling their potential audience and reach without having to target every comment.

This means that smaller accounts could affect it to with more VP or alert someone with higher VP to take action immediately.

@Steemcleaners / @guard can then be notified to nuke the account without their response lag leading to potentially hundreds more comments being made in that time. I see this as a community initiative to work together to take action and responsibility for the platform against the phishers.

This would also have implications to limit the spread of the worst Spammers too and if abused, it is not too hard to see and correct.

Taraz

[ a Steemit /Utopian.io original ]



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

This is amazing, actually you're right most scammers are always under rep 15, because of the various flags they've accrued in the past, that's what the auto hide should raised, to 15, so that when they tend to spam their comments will raise eyebrows, and have Less visibility

You are absolutely right. Spammers can generate about 10 comments in one minutes. It is really confusing, because I dont see them getting any benefits of doing that.I cant understand if they are misunderstanding the concept or just hoping for something to change. I noticed that the most of them dont have any idea about the reputation score what makes them do the same mistakes again and again.

hell yes.

I Agree. Hope this will help readers to be careful from scammers or suspicious links. We can't stop them to post here but can be careful from them.

This would probably be a good idea, especially on times like this when it seems every 2-3 days a new fake steemit appears trying to steal people's passwords.

I see lots of 'warning' posts but that doesn't help much to combat the issue. I like the guard idea and I think this could support that as well as get the community more heavily involved.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Good thinking, but this phishing is getting more frequent

I have 15 steem power. Few days ago someone posted phishing link inthe reply of my post. I flagged him because it was my reponsbilty to do. But there should be a separate community or group for downing them otherwise many innocents like me will lose money.

Hey @tarazkp I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78