You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do earnings increase for individual authors when the Steem price rises, or not?

I wish I understood something of your articles about how Steemit works (glum face). Not a numbers and charts girl, here.
I have learned, now, that to comment is to post, but would that then also count as posting regularly (if you only commented)?

(Not relevant to this post I think, but still, something I can't figure out for ages now, and you're the only one I can think to ask: Is there any point in upvoting a comment? Even if there is only one comment and you don't need it to rank higher above all the other non-comments, say?)

Sort:  

I don't think that there's much structural difference between an article and a comment (apart from one sitting underneath the other; the "depth"). In terms of rewards, upvotes on comments give author rewards and curation rewards just like upvotes on articles. So there's no more or less point in upvoting a comment than there is to upvoting an article, if that's not too existentialist.

Although having thought about it again I suppose upvoted comments don't go on the trending page, so the upvote doesn't give them exposure. Maybe they should. Maybe there should be a trending page for random comments. I would visit that page.

I tend to upvote comments, particularly if they can improve on something in the article I've written, or if they generally add to the sense of discussion or community, or if my fingers get clicky. Or sometimes just to thank people for stopping by. It's never very much but I think it can add up and help to keep people rolling. Look after the pennies and all that. Maybe I will do an analysis to find out. Are there people that just comment. And how much do they make? But not today. Today I must write a story about an island.

This reply-comment-post certainly added up for me. Thanks for taking the time to explain! You sounded human again: I get that about the keeping it rolling. I am amazed at the job you do at that! (So many fingers in so many very diverse pies).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44