Utopian 1UP : SteemConnect login!

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Although I have all the reasons to love SteemPlus has a tool to add the 1UP Button (after all it's my extension =D), @flauwy and I both believe that 1UP should also be able to be used as a standalone. For this, we need a way for users to vote directly from the 1UP frontend.

This will take a while to realize but as always, I am adopting a step by step approach to divide the project in work items.

New Features

In this first work item, I integrated SteemConnect login and logout to Utopian1UP. Although I ve already done that for SteemPlus, there were some differences working on a node environment, especially for handling the sessions and cookies. Here are the steps I followed:

  • Create a new Steem account on the SteemConnect v2 dashboard. This is a necessary step that costs 3 STEEM in order to use SteemConnect v2 service.
  • Configure the sc2 App
  • Use the sc2-sdk package to login, get the sessionToken and redirect to the home page.
  • Handle logouts
  • Use session management in order to get the information about login status and user account details.
    -Incorporate the Login/Logout buttons into the UI through the .ejs file:
    image.png

Sorry, my connection is really nasty today so it took a while to load on the following GIF:

loginoneup.gif

I didn't push it to the Heroku server yet because it doesn't have any concrete application (yet!).

Coming soon!

Stay tuned for the next developements that will include the following :

  • Possibility to vote directly from the website.
  • Voting indications
  • More good stuff!

Hope this helps!

@stoodkev for @utopian-1up



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Yeah, one small step for 1UP, one big leap for Steem. LOL

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

The code looks good. Nice use of a config file. It makes the code more readable.

Can we contribute to your internet connection? ;-)
So the secret is secret... Interesting...

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Lol the secret changed and went in the env file just after my post, but you have sharp eyes my friend ^^
For the connection feel free to help me adress letters of complain (in Chinese ) to my landlord :D

Good decision! I don't need to move anymore to vote with enhanced version. Thanks. And I was sharing steemplus on steemhunt.com https://steemhunt.com/@dakeshi/steemplus-lightweight-browser-extension-for-steem-life

Hey @stoodkev I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

steem-plus can be used from mobile phone ??
@stoodkev

No, mobiles browsers dont accept extensions, sorry

Great information. Amazing

This is pretty amazing. I'm loving the SteemPlus extension. Need to get the ones for Utopian as well. I need to figure out Utopian anyways, for we've got some projects, and though I've taken the time to sync GitHub with it, nothing's happening on it. Well, would be cool if the SteemIT platform could support email notifications, though that's another topic for another post.

forgive me if there is an error. i will learn again. if I may know, a little more explanation, so I can fix it. thank

I think I'm the one that needs to learn. LOL ... Site's working fine. My brain isn't. Thanks for checking in, though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54