You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Part 0: Create STEEM web applications with Django and Steem-Python

Haha sorry my bad, I did not know about this 6 months ago. Have been looking to learn more about web development with Python and I believe a good way to learn is to write tutorials. There is indeed a lot of stuff that can be done and I will be busy for a while.

I had a look at your website I like the idea. How do you verify if a user actually made a run?

Sort:  

There is indeed a lot of stuff that can be done and I will be busy for a while.

I'm excited to see the tutorials you put together. I'm sure I'll learn some stuff -- and it'll at least be a good refresher how to get everything working nicely. One thing I for sure need to learn about is writing good tests. I kinda just skipped that part and went straight to work and never looked back -- bad practice.

How do you verify if a user actually made a run?

Considering things are teeny tiny right now -- I haven't really worried about people lying and logging a run anyways. Most users have been logging activities by uploading a GPS file, because ultimately, they're more concerned about their training than they are about gaming the system. I've built in a couple checks to make sure that it's not a duplicate GPS file a user is uploading, and to check the start-times and speeds to see if anything is funky.

I've put some thought into:

  • switching it to require that the activity be created from GPS tracking data (like a garmin TCX or GPX or whatever).;
  • shortly, I'll be adding some information on flagging, and a button to flag -- so users can determine if they think a run is fake. Run gets flagged below a threshold? It's eliminated from the pool and the 'athlete' doesn't get a payout at the end of the week.

The site is a big W.I.P and I tend to break it a couple times each week. But it has been a lot of fun learning how to do everything.


PS. Let me know if you do a tutorial on setting up SteemKeychain and / or getting it to work with Django. I haven't looked into it yet -- but it's on my radar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14