UX issues with the Reblog functionality, Busy.org (beta) testingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

In this post I will point out some issues with the Reblog functionality on busy.org (beta) from a UX standpoint.

At the end I will also suggest how these issues could be resolved by giving a few examples(with images).

I tested on Opera/Windows.


reblog-ux-issues.png

First, I reblogged a post, which worked without issues. After it was reblogged I could see it on my profile page and it was also labelled at the top of the post that it was reblogged as one can see in this screenshot:


my-feed-post-is-reblogged-w.png

However, when I went to the profile of the post's owner, there was no label and also no way to see that I reblogged it(or someone else did).

Users could expect to see that they already reblogged that post, so that they see it at a glance and not think that maybe the reblog functionality didn't work.

Here is the same post but on the owner's profile page:


on-feed-doesn-t-show-reblog.png

The reblog link/button seems to let me try to reblog again

And when I click on it, the reblog modal shows up, as if I didn't already reblogged it.

This could confuse users to think that they can reblog the same post more than once:


asks-me-if-i-want-to-reblog.png

Then, when I click the 'Reblog' button in the modal to try to reblog again, I get one error on the site and two errors in the console.

The error on the site says 'Account has already reblogged this post.' which I find it personally to be depersonalizing. None likes to be called 'Account' :) Maybe instead it could say 'You have already reblogged this post' or 'This post was already reblogged by you'.

Here is how it looked like when I tried to reblog an already reblogged post:


an-error-occurs-when-trying.png

To avoid this UX issue and improve this functionality I suggest that the 'reblog' arrow could be 'active' if I see a post that was already reblogged by me. Here is how this could look like:


reblogged-post-should-look-like-this.png

And, if I actually click on the active reblog link/button, it should not show me the reblog modal and let me to try to reblog again, instead a different modal should appear that informs me that such an action cannot be repeated. Here is how such a modal could look like:


post-already-reblogged-modal-suggestion.png




Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

Hey @sirrius I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 95% Power!

Achievements

-I am a bot...I need someone spotting my bugs!
-Good amount of information. Thank you!
-A very informative contribution. Good job!
-Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
-Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!
-You have a good amount of votes on your contributions. Good job!
-In total you have more votes than average for this category. Bravo!
-You have just unlocked 7 achievements. Yeah!
Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one.

Reviewed and accepted @sirrius
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you, cheers :)

Hi, there are some issues needed to be resolved before I can approve this contribution.

There has been a new update on Utopian. We now require more formal way of writing. Imagine that you are writing this directly on GitHub.

Please remove:

Hello everyone :)

Thank you for reading and if you have questions or suggestions about this post or have any other idea about the reblog functionality on the site (busy beta), please leave them in the comments.
Awesome day ahead :)

You are reporting bugs so you should remove the feature suggestion. In the future write about one issue at a time.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you @espoem, I did not know about this. I updated the post and from now on I will only post one issue at a time and write more formally. I hope it is all right now.

Thank you for letting me know about this and for giving me details about how to fix the post. Cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86