Django Girls Tutorial: 612 of 7,784 Words @ 27% Completion

in #utopian-io6 years ago

As a quick overview, Django Girls Tutorial aims to empower women to learn programming. In fact, their website says:

Django Girls is a non-profit organization and a community that empowers and helps women to organize free, one-day programming workshops by providing tools, resources and support. We are a volunteer run organization with hundreds of people contributing to bring more amazing women into the world of technology. We are making technology more approachable by creating resources designed with empathy.
During each of our events, 30-60 women build their first web application using HTML, CSS, Python and Django.

 


Image Source: Soft Revolution - Django Girls

If you take a quick look, the project and the tutorial aims to promote and help women learn programming. This is a great initiative in empowering women to learn the skill, in this area that mostly dominated by men. In fact their tagline says

We inspire women to fall in love with programming.

 

If you want to know more about the project and on how to contribute you can visit this link and their website as well for further information. There are a lot of ways to contribute, translation works is just one them.

Personally, I was drawn to contribute to the project with the aim of helping localize the project so that Filipino women will also benefit from this project, learn programming, and contribute to the betterment of our society.

For this submission, I have provided translations around 42 lines, which spans 612 words. This is just the start of my contributions for this project. Hoping that in the near future, I will also able to contribute not just translation works, but development works as well.

Proof of Work

My Profile: https://crowdin.com/profile/severinolorillajr
Django Girls Tutorial Project : https://crowdin.com/project/django-girls-tutorial/tl#

One of the images below show a screenshot of my crowdin profile. Here you can see the projects that I am currently working on, one of which is Django Girls. Also shown on the images is the graph for the translation works that I have made so far.

Images below shows a screenshot of all the lines that I have translated for this posting. Again, I have translated 42 lines, around 612 words, as shown on the screenshots below.

Cheers,
happywondering



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I have always been a big advocate of empowering anybody, especially women. This is a good thing you are doing. Keep it up (as if I need to tell you)!

Thanks a lot for your kind words.
For sure, I'll continue to contribute as much as I can.
See you around! Cheers!

Hey @shoganaii I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64144.95
ETH 3509.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55