Steemit: White space removed from beginning of posts, but not in preview

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

I think I've gathered that bugs should be described here before submitting a bug report to Github. But since I got all excited to make my first contribution, here goes anyway.

Link to Github issue: https://github.com/steemit/condenser/issues/2292

Since I've connected my Github account to my account here, I assume you can verify that's really me.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

hello @scottyeager, I am glad you found utopian and have chosen to contribute to Open Source Projects through it. However, you failed to understand how the community works.
Every approved contributions are deposited to there various repositories. This means, when you create an issue for a project through utopian, once approved the issue is submitted to the repository which you are contributing to. Looking at your contribution, i can see that you already created the issue directly on the repository which got approved by the project maintainer. Submitting same issue here is not going to be approved because its just like submitting duplicate issue. To be able to contribute well here, you need to create the issue or report directly on utopian.io.
Thank you.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks for your explanation. I do understand the process now, and I'll certainly follow it for future contributions.

That said, I don't really understand why a report like this is any different than submitting source code or documentation to a project then posting it to Utopian after it's been pulled into the repository. This issue hasn't been duplicated on Utopian and I clearly did the work, so what's the big deal?

I took care to read all of the rules and FAQs on the site, and this process was not spelled out clearly. How do I go about contributing to these documents to help others get it right the first time?

You Received A FREE UPVOTE
Use @MinnowBoosted To Boost Your Rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99