You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing my statistics/data science blog - forthcoming posts and call for feedback

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Oh that would be really nice. I would love to learn the statistics from inside out. I mean I use it everyday, while analyzing data of my experiments. But I would like to have a better understanding of it. Like what distribution does my data fall in. What is optimal N size for a given effect size. What statistical test to use. Esp in regards to biological experiments. Like what is the right way to analyze fold changes in geneexpression. Or how do you go about analyzing data which has variation in basal expression of some gene but the treatment causes an increase in either case. You know. I would be interested in that kind of things for sure.

Sort:  

All very good questions! I definitely see people using stats in their disciplines who get taught a very recipe driven approach - which is fine for simple scenarios where you can just follow the recipe - but without that understanding they can get themselves into trouble if the recipe doesn't fit the problem (like putting the green salad in the oven for an hour because you only got taught baking recipes).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23