Fix the back end code to allow only 5 tags in Steem blockchain or allow more in Steemit

in #utopian-io7 years ago

While reading through my feeds, I stumbled upon this post from @carlgnash where he explains an Exploit in the Steem Blockchain where more than 5 tags can be used while creating a post.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@carlgnash/a-steem-exploit-more-than-5-categories-tags-in-a-post-should-we-care

I verified his findings and could see the actual proof in this post :

https://steemit.com/art/@rizaldamti/poster-promosi-film-warkop-dki-reborn-or-lukisan-3d-by-munadiannur-cs-201798t184914481z

There are other proofs in his post, and that makes me feel miserable, because if I am posting on Steemit.com then I am not allowed to post with more than 5 tags.

So as part of this suggestion, I propose, that either the Steem Blockchain code be fixed not allow more than 5 tags, so that any other front end app cannot post with more than 5 tags.

Or allow any number of tags in Steemit.com front end app to give the facility to everyone.

image.png



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

Explanation:

  • the "suggestion rules" state: "Suggestions must provide all the details for the requested features to be actually built.",
  • I see 0% opportunity for you to improve this post, because that would mean a complete 100% overhaul of your article including referencing the current cpp files, identifying the exact "bugs" (it's not even a bug, it's a blockchain feature not implemented on the steemit/condenser frontend) within the code, and explaining how "Sneak" would need to change it, via a HardFork I might add, to which consensus regarding the witnesses should be achieved prior to development and deployment.
    @scipio

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Edit: self-upvoted for visibility

Excellent :)

Just to debate , I looked at your post and you just gave the screen mock but did not give the complete reference of the files that would be changed in the utopian platform, so called complete reference that would give the utopian developer everything they need to implement this feature.

But still it was approved ?

You are apparently completely misunderstanding what I wrote:

  • as I have explained above, in the "suggestion" category any author - including me - needs to provide all the details needed to be actually built;
  • in my post I did provide all details needed, both in words and even in a self-designed UI,
  • because my suggestion - which was approved by another moderator of course, we can't moderate our own articles - contained a new, currently non-existing feature / sub-module and mechanism for Utopian.io, it is impossible to reference source files: how can anybody pinpoint source code that doesn't exist in that point in time? It is impossible;
  • you on the other hand, address a "multiple tag" issue, other people found, and your only "suggestion" is the idea "solve it!". You don't explain - at all - at any technical level how steem developers should develop a solution that would make it impossible for self-built Python / nodeJS scripts to post more than 5 tags per article. So not only don't you provide all needed details, but you have provided zero details,
  • we just had a 30 minute DM conversation at Discord, probably more than double the time you spent to write this article. You told me at first you wanted to learn from, later on accusing the Utopian moderators we measure with different standards, where I tried to explain to you I would have rejected this suggestion article of yours 100%, regardless who wrote it, even if it would have been published anonymously,
  • you have told me yourself, on Discord again, multiple times you cannot code, that you lack programmer skills. That in itself is not a problem to contribute valid suggestions, but in this particular instance - regarding the subject of this article - the only way to provide "all details" would require pinpointing the exact source files and then addressing how to change it - which as I have explained would then require a hardfork for which witness consensus is needed;
  • furthermore, you have used the wrong repo,
  • and also you should have filed under "bug", at which category you would have to provide even more technical details,
  • hence 0% possibility to qualify for a Utopian upvote in this post.

PS: as I have told you already, another moderator kindly asked me to take over reviewing this article. And I have also told you why in a DM.

This is now the end of this discussion. I wish you the best.

Excellent Post and informational .. please Follow me and upvote me ..!!

Very nice suggestion you got, somethings there are irrelevant tags only to seek attention while some post in here cant be notice though quality content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54