You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Particle physics @ Utopian-io - Designing an LHC search strategy for unraveling new phenomena

in #utopian-io6 years ago

as dark matter is invisible

I guess that's one of the reasons it is called "dark" matter.

There's something I've been thinking; though not directly related to the post - or maybe remotely. How close are scientists to discover dark matter? (I mean, to observe dark matter directly). Does it actually exist in reality?

I stumbled on a publication that talked about the discovery of some high energy "ghost particle". Does that account for the discovery of dark matter?

Sort:  

I guess that's one of the reasons it is called "dark" matter.

Yes: it does not interact electromagnetically. Since electromagnetism is connected to light, it is called dark :)

There's something I've been thinking; though not directly related to the post - or maybe remotely. How close are scientists to discover dark matter? (I mean, to observe dark matter directly). Does it actually exist in reality?

There is a bunch of indirect evidence for dark matter, and they are very strong. The only missing point is a direct observation. However, the results have not ruled out all dark matter options (we are even far from there).

But I cannot really answer the question. I hope we will now as soon as possible :)

I stumbled on a publication that talked about the discovery of some high energy "ghost particle". Does that account for the discovery of dark matter?

I have no idea on what you are talking about. Can you please provide me a reference?

Thanks a lot for the kind reply sir.

Can you please provide me a reference?

I found one of the articles, but I can't locate the rest. I should have bookmarked them; but maybe because I didn't show much interest in them.
Here's the link to the one I found:

Those are neutrinos. I wrote two posts on them recently, and I will actually write something on them soon to discuss the discovery you mention :)

I'd be waiting for it sir :)

Maybe tomorrow. No time at the moment ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64