Steemconnect - Node-js - Boilerplate For Rapid Development 💻

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

stemmconnect.jpg

This project is a boilerplate for rapid development on top of the steem network.

I have a number of project Ideas I’m building. The tools available to us as developers are great, steem-js, steemconnect SDK, steemSQL and Piston Lib to name a few. Even with the set of tools available I’ve had a somewhat hard time knowing how to get started and figuring out how to set everything up. To make it a faster onramp for those that come after me I’ve created the steem-connect-node-boilerplate.

See the github repo for setup and instructions - HERE

What does the boilerplate include

  • Authentication with SteemConnect
  • Get User Profile
  • Get Content Feed
  • Create Top Level Post
  • Upvote Top Level Post

Built on top of the following tools.

Express.js

Lightweight node.js framework to handle, routing, sessions, views, database or any other backend services you could need.

SteemConnect

Steemconnect based user authentication is setup out of the box. Include you details in the config.js file and your app can authenticate a user. When clicking to login a request will be made to steemconnect and the user will be redirected to your app. The access token is stored in a session to allow further requests on behalf of the authenticated user until they logout or it expires.

Creating Posts + Voting

With steemConnect auth enabled this boilerplate has the ability to post and vote on behalf of the user. You can add more scopes in the steemConnect module.

steem-js

While SteemConnect handles authenticated actions steem-js interacts with the blockchain to receive content. The feed page and individual content pages are examples of this. Change /trending/ to /@username/ for example to get users post feed instead.

I wanted to reduce the amount of assumptions in the project as much as possible. There is very minimal css, only used as an example to get you started. Front end javascript is kept to a minimum but example of getting feed and voting are included to get you started.

Let me know if you find this useful or have any questions. ✌️

✅➡️ Github Commit History



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Really appreciate the help learning the the nuts and bolts of the the steem platform.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Its a great tool for the newbie but I would suggest you to explain more next time if you are adding it for the first time which will help user to get grasp of it.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks for reviewing my project. I will create a full tutorial so there is a step by step guide for anyone wanting to make use of this as a platform. I appreciate the advice.

That's very generous of you! I've started getting into more front-end stuff (recently learned a bit of Angular) since I normally code in Python and C, so this will be very useful to me... once I think of something to create haha

You're welcome, I enjoy working on projects for the steem network and happy I can share some code to make it easier for other people along the way. If you already do python you can check out the https://github.com/xeroc/piston-lib & https://github.com/steemit/steem-python 👍

Yeah, I've been using the steem-python library for a while now and even made some tutorials for it, it's pretty neat!

Hey @sambillingham I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thanks Utopian 🤖 & Team 👨‍👩‍👦‍👦

your impact on the community is enormous. keep up the great work my man 👍

Thanks for the support. I have so many project ideas! excited to be part of the community and glad I can help make tools and projects people can use.

i started using one of your tools recently. it's great stuff.
i can't believe there's even more ideas!

Awesome, so great to see stuff like this! Nicely done.

Thanks, I appreciate the support. 💯

boilerplate for rapid development on top of the steem network = top notch idea
great work

Thank you for your contribution Sam, would you like to contribute to our open source Steem based application @steemlinked as a developer?

You can connect with me on https://steemit.chat/aneilpatel if you want to discuss more about the project and vision.

Hey @aneilpatel I just had a quick look at the @steemlinked introduction post. It looks interesting. From my understanding, it is a mix of linkedin/upwork built ontop of the steem network?

Do you already have work towards the initial release or alpha project? What stack/technology are you using to built it? I am very busy right now but might be able to hlelp out.

Conceptually, are you using upvotes on the platform? When and what are they used for?

@sambillingham yes, it is a combination of linkedIn and upwork. We are planning to use upvotes in the linkedIn part where people are rewarded for posting blog/projects on our platform and curating/sending proposals.

For the upwork part, we are looking forward to use Steem escrow contracts between clients and freelancers.
Please share your steemit.chat or discord username so that we can have a discussion.

Wonderful post.....thanks for shearing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60