# Build Bot’s With Steem-Js #1-10

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

bot-tut.1-10-min.png


#1 Auto Upvote Bot - Upvote posts from a set of users


#2 Curation Bot - Copy the upvotes of a selected user


#3 Auto follow bot - Copy who a selected user follows


#4 Paid upvote bot - Upvote a user in proportion to receiving SBD


#5 @ Mention Notifier bot - Receive an email when @mentioned *


#6 Auto Reward Claimer bot - Check and claim rewards


#7 Bots In The Background - Using Node.js and scheduling code


#8 Stats Responder - Reply with message when @mentioed


#9 Contest Bot - Storing JSON & checking hastags


#10 ReBlogged List - Checking all transactions for specific data **


Over the past month I’ve been making tutorials that use steem-js to interact with the STEEM blockchain. I’ve made this list here to be easier to point to rather than individual tutorial posts.

It’s been super cool to get such a positive response to the tutorials. Thank you. I’ve said before that I’m not actually the biggest fan of “🤖 on STEEM” but I do think it’s a good gateway into programming, imo better and more fun than making websites although the learning curve is greater.

* Formspree.io no longer allows free accounts to send emails via AJAX. :(

** A @penderis found a better way of doing this, check the comments in that post before working through the tutorial.

I’m working on a number of other ideas for tutorials. Leave requests for more tutorials in the comments.

p.s I’m working on a standalone website for tutorials coming soon™. ✌️

Sort:  

Have you had any trouble with stuff on Utopian getting denied? I’m making a really simple static html site with some notes about the Steem.js stuff I’ve used, but when I looked at the categories on Utopian it made me worried that my post would be rejected since I’m a beginner.

Hey @jeffbernst. You should not be too worried that your project gets rejected by Utopian.

One of my projects got rejected. The reason given was that too little effort went into the project. To be honest, I found the rejection to be unfair. I had worked several days on the project. In the end, ​I put even more effort into it and re-submitted. It then has been approved.

I would start to make contributions in the tutorial category before contributing to the development category.

I also agree with Sam, your work is great. We are all learners and therefore beginners. And having a beginners mind can be a huge plus when writing tutorials.

Thanks for the tips! Ok, I think I'll start with some contributions in the tutorial category -- writing the explanations for my posts has definitely helped solidify my knowledge, so it would be nice to have an excuse to write more.

And thank you for the support! It's a little intimidating putting my work out there, but it has been really exciting being able to get feedback and connect with other developers. 🙂

I try to pay close attention to what get's approved/rejected. I've had one project denied. I felt my project was only denied because it was submitted at a time there was a heavy backlog (> 4 days) and the mods were told to clear it. A lot of projects got rejected that day even though many would pass moderation just fine.

I doubt your project would ever be rejected because you're a beginner. Honestly, your work is better than plenty of people who wouldn't consider themselves beginners.

Which category are you planning to submit to? If you're planning to submit to the Development category and it's a new project you just need to make sure you explain how your project is different than what's already out there and how you plan to work on it in future.

I generally don't worry too much about my submissions because I see a lot of projects approved that are far less work and or less value.

p.s This post wasn't submitted to utopian I just used the tag.
EDIT: also thanks for the re-steem

Oh ok awesome, thanks for the pointers and support! I'm realizing now that I don't have a good sense of what is submitted on Utopian because I don't spend enough time browsing the site. I'll try to spend some more time on there to get a better idea of how things work.

My plan is to make a really simple site with explanations of how to use some of the Steem.js API calls that I have experience with, explained within the context of helping a beginner get started making their own site that connects to the Steem blockchain. It will look a lot like the documentation, but more of a tutorial. So I guess I would try submitting it to the tutorial category, and then just include the info in a post and link to my site.

If I post through Utopian, does the post immediately show up in my Steem account, but then they might ask me to replace the contents with DELETED or something if they don't approve it?

Thanks for the help and I was happy to re-steem! It's inspiring seeing all of the projects that you're working on 😀

Anything posted on Utopian is immediately posted to the blockchain so yes shows up on any other sites that pull all content. You would never be asked or need to replace the contents. If it doesn't get approved it just won't show on Utopian but it makes no difference elsewhere.

For the tutorial, you select the open source project you're writing about in this case 'steem.js' and then, in essence, you are writing a guest post on the utopian website. I'm not sure they would take into account any external content, so at that point, you're just doing another steem.js tutorial which I could imagine a trigger happy mod might shoot you down for duplication (in theory you're not allowed to do tutorials on anything that has been done before)

What you're doing sounds more like it would fit in the development category again. You are creating an OS project/OS better documentation to help people learn steem.js. It's not a clear-cut one though. I've been in the same situation with a website for my tutorials, which I'm hesitant to submit.

Oh awesome, so I really have nothing to lose by posting through Utopian. It might get rejected but it's no different than only posting on Steemit I guess.

Thanks for the help! Have felt a little confused about how to approach posting some initial stuff on Utopian until now.

console.log('many thanks')

res.json({"msg":"Thanks for the support Jo U+1F4AF"})

Hey
good job i like it

are you available for a freelance hire
about steemit js api can i get your skype id to talk

thanks

Hey. It completely depends on the project. You're welcome to message me on discord @sambillingham#7927

add you
waiting your acceptation

I would also be interested in that - are you still available in discord?

I really like this tutorial series. Good job :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95