Bug On Profile Pictures For Steemit Search Engine Results

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

One awesome feature of Steemit Custom Google Search is the ability to only search for anything that has been posted on Steem blockchain. And also search for user's profile easily.
The search feature don't just search but it also suggest similar enquiry while the user is typing.

image


I haven't been able to use Steemit search button for a long time. So I tried searching my self to get into my profile with few clicks. It was then I noticed there are bugs with the search engine. Which needs urgent attention.

The Bug

After I tried searching my name "rufans" I got the exact link to my profile but with a wrong profile picture.
The profile picture showing along side my name via the Google Custom Search page isn't me. The profile pictures shows a white man.


Check the screenshots below which compares the fake Profile picture shown on Google custom search page and my real Steemit profile picture.

  • Fake Profile Picture

image


  • Real Profile Picture

image


I searched for another user . Same bug.

  • Fake Profile Picture
    image

  • Real Profile Picture

image


I initially thought it's just an error on my profile picture or some selected profiles. I went ahead to search for other users . The bug even got worst here. After searching for some users , Google custom search result gave them no profile picture.
Check the below screenshots

  • Google custom search [no profile picture]
    image

  • Steemit profile picture
    image

How to Reproduce bug

videotogif_2017.12.30_10.37.51.gif


Solution

Development team need to specify thumbnail for every profile

Some helpful code can be found in the link below
https://support.google.com/customsearch/answer/1626955?hl=en&vid=0-421380805819-1514950177639

solution suggested by https://steemit.com/@wehmoen

Phone And Browser Used

image



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Okay I will

found you in telegram group . upvoted and followed you. kindly follow me back

Very halpfull for me. Thanks

Hey @rufans I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78