How do I send secret private messages through my Steemit wallet?

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

how to send private meme through steemit wallet.jpg

Steemit does not have an internal channel. So, the easiest way to communicate with a person is to send a message through the wallet. This service cost 0.001 SBD or 0.001 STEEM. This article explains how to send a encrypted message through the Steemit wallet.

The only problem is that the message is visible to everyone.

Capture d’écran 2017-11-23 à 07.01.00.png

If you want to send a completely private message (e. g. your email address or phone number), there is a small trick that you can use : place a ``#'' in front of your message!

**It's fast, simple and efficient and can be done in a few steps: **

Step 1: Go to your Steemit Wallet (in your Steemit account)

Step 2: Choose whether you want to send STEEM or SBD and click the small arrow to select Transfer.

In the example below, I choose to transfer from the SBD (STEEM Dollars)

Capture d’écran 2017-11-23 à 07.09.40.png

Step 3: Click Transfer

By clicking on Transfer you will have to fill in the different empty fields:

The name of the person to whom you want to send the message.

The amount (you can send at least 0.001 SBD/STEEM, but you are free to send more if you wish).

Be careful, make sure there are enough SBDs in your balance. No message can be sent if you do not have a SBD.

Write your memo without forgetting the #.

Note, it is written that Ce mémo est public which means, in french, This memo is public except that it will no longer be public thanks to the # !

Capture d’écran 2017-11-23 à 07.13.35.png

Step 4: Send!

In fact, the # has an encryption function that means that only the person who receives this message will be able to read it with their Memo key. Even I, who sent the message, will not be able to see it by going into the wallet of the person to whom I sent the message!

View of my Steemit account

Capture d’écran 2017-11-23 à 16.47.20.png

View of @oroger's account from my own account

Capture d’écran 2017-11-23 à 07.22.15.png

View from @oroger's account from his account

image. png

The message is therefore completely encrypted, impossible to read except for the one who has the Memo Key. It's simple, fast and efficient!

Sort:  

Why do I get an error message? I am using my private active key for the transfer.

2017-11-23.png

I think you have to stick the DASH and the sentence ... AND you can't transfer the SBD to yourself :D

I figured it out. You first have to login with your memo key (I was logged in with my posting key)

Exact ;-) In fact, it was written in red " missing meme key " :D

pocketsend:10000@roxane,I always thought that the posting & active keys had "memo" authority. I learned something today...thank you! :)

Successful Send of 10000
Sending Account: onthewayout
Receiving Account: roxane
New sending account balance: 997
New receiving account balance: 1018251
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 505a92e85cd7cb7c91503c2af6008c9428d52c84
Thanks for using POCKET! I am a confirmer bot for fun, view my source confirmer code here. Don't know what a POCKET Token is? Here is a link to the official announcement post.

Actually you can transfer money to yourself. And removing the space does not do anything.

2017-11-23 (1).png

Didn't know you could transfer de money to yourself :D
I got the message by the way :D Just can't read it because I am not connected with the good key ;-)

OH ! I see what's the problem, you were not using the correct key to send the message...

This is impressive..... #thumbsup

Hi @roxane can you remove this?

If you speak french, join me on my profil @roxane to have more information about How to share quality content on Steem and others tips. And have a look at 👉 Comprendre-steem.fr!
You will find everything you need to start on Steem the FAQ, videos, tutos, tools etc.

If speak english, you can follow me on my personal profil @malik.roxane where I talk about many different things and sometimes in english !

👉 Please, rested this post if you want me to join SteemFest2

👍 If you like my work and want to support me, this is my BTC adress : 1H4faCE3f37JDi8bQqADXn4V1nQutr13oj

and the signature on the right part? when your done please reply to this comment.

You may edit your post here, as shown below:

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hello @ruah, I have removed my signature.... But I don't understand why I have to do that. Can you explain me ? Thank you !

Approved.

But I don't understand why I have to do that. Can you explain me ?

As I understand it: once an article is submitted through @utopian-io, it is no longer a 'personal' blog post, but a contribution to the open source ecosystem, that must A) add value to the open source ecosystem, and B) should only do A and should not advertise any other interests of the author at the same time, such as advertising other articles, asking for followers, asking for payment, and so on...

@roxane this is great info! I knew about how to send a meme, but not how to make it private with hashtags. Thanks! I'll be using this tip for sure! ✌🏾😊

Really awesome. I also did not know about this!!

Nice information .

very funny
If this in messenger or email , i will be a rich man

I had no idea about this. Thank you!

Happy that you learned something :-) @connecteconomy

Merci @roxane 😊

J'ai fait mon petit palier 🏋🏻‍♀️
Je suis trop contente !!

Merci pour tout et depuis le début tu es là !!
Et j espère vraiment pouvoir venir au steem Auvergne et te voir enfin !!

@charline OMG ! :-) Encore félicitation pour les 50 !!!!! QUEL PALIER !!!!!!! :D
Je serai la en Auvergne, j'espère que toi aussi ma chacha !!!!

Ouiiiiiiiii 😁
Enfin un petit palier 👌🏻

Le prochain ça sera dans très longtemps vu comme j'avance xD

Ouai bah pour l'instant je peux pas te dire je saurai fin février si je peux venir ...
mais si je viens tu seras au courant de suite !!

Et si je viens y a intérêt que je te vois 👀

Wow, even I didn't know about this! Awesome! Seems like it would be really easy to build a separate UI that facilitated messages sent this way. It would also be nice to set a minimum threshold like: Only accept messages sent with .1 STEEM (as opposed to just .001). Part of the problem with internet communications is that you can get spammed, introducing even this small barrier could do a lot to minimize spam. Great article Roxane!

Hello @andrarchy, happy that you could learn something from me :-)
Have you seen that since Steemfest I am starting to write my article in english too ? So I really hope I can finally be recognized (=more upvotes) for the hight quality work I do daily :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78