You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Talk to the CEO - Utopian Translations Category

in #utopian-io6 years ago

This is a brave move. A bit scary because I am so involved in this category for 6 months, maybe too involved. But I know many moderators and translators love this opportunity to speak out and this part I appreciate very much because only in this way, we can make some headway to solving some problems.

The translation category started off quite fun in the beginning in June, but slowly as the months went on, I felt the heavy burden that we seem to be fighting a losing battle in face of many challenges in this category.

I've tried very hard to get translation category going, reporting the ongoing work, doing research on quality metrics, putting 100% of my effort to help all users, answering the moderators questions, interviewing the LMs to create better communication & a closer bond of a working team relationship... but only to find out today that "this is not really helping the category as it is not contributing in building a trail to vote the translators and LM". Perhaps someone else is more suited to take over this CM role so I will fade out. I was also told there are unfairness and resentment built so it would be good if users can come out to share openly what is bothering them.

Sort:  

Honestly, I think you did a good job in trying to improve things. It was obvious how much effort you put into your work because you wanted the category to succeed.
The current problems are definitely not a sign of failure at your end but merely a proof that as soon as money is involved, people will always try to game the system.

"this is not really helping the category as it is not contributing in building a trail to vote the translators and LM"

Can you please shed some more light on this point?

@elear, the quote there is exactly what @aboutcoolscience said to me the other day.

@rosatravels is the MVP of Translations (if not Utopian as a whole)! I don't know if I could handle all the responsibility she has, and at the same time make sure everyone is as happy as possble with how things are :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05