You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing The Amanuensis: Automated Songwriting and Recording | Blog #1 | Demo Video plus 2 Recordings

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Thank you for your nice introduction to the project. Even though I am not that proficient in the field, I haven't heard an app, a plugin or a feature in any DAW like this before. The idea sounds promising to me. Besides, I can't say the same for the demos/examples in the post. I think that adding better samples would be way better to introduce the project and the concept. I except to see more in the upcoming posts.

Also, the contribution doesn't fit the tutorials category since contributions in tutorials category are expected to teach instead of introducing as stated in Utopian Guidelines.

Contributions in this category include technical instructions using text and illustrations to clearly explain and teach significant aspects of an Open Source project.

But the contribution is a perfect match for blog posts category. We welcome posts introducing or promoting a project with details and overviews which describe history, present and future of a project. Therefore, the contribution is moved to blog posts category and reviewed under the guidelines of the category. For the upcoming blog posts, you should use "blog" tag as the second tag.

Additionally, using resources without properly referencing and quoting is not welcomed in Utopian even if the content belongs to you. The certain part of "What is The Amanuensis?" section could be paraphrased or to be shown in a blockquote.

To provide a better presentation in the upcoming posts of the series, I suggest using higher degree headers(h2,h3 instead of h3,h4 i.e) and increasing number of visuals in the post. Also you might think about separating the text into smaller sections. In this current form, the contribution has a low readability and it's hard to follow.

I tried to point out everything that could improve the quality of the post. I would be glad if I could help you in any ways. I hope I managed!

Thank you for sharing the great project in Utopian, I'll be looking forward for your future posts.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Hey @roj
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Utopian Rocks!

Thanks for all the tips! Sorry about the wrong category. I intended it for the blog category and that's what I had originally written, but voice recognition screwed me again… It loves to erase the things I write and substitute default entries from the past as soon as I click "submit". I'll be more careful next time.

Also I realize my demos aren't extremely impressive right now (no hands). It's something I'm working hard to improve. If I may ask, which would you say is a bigger problem: the quality of the video (editing, etc.) or the actual musical quality of the recordings produced?

Thanks for your feedback!

Yeah, the video recording quality is bad but I'm not judging it, since it would improved easily. My worry about the quality of the music produced is the difference between potential and current sample(to my expectations of course). I think that the result would be much better with better input and instrument samples(for demonstration purposes). It's a nice practice to show results with existing samples as input when you don't have anything to jam with at the moment of recording.

Thanks @roj, unfortunately I don't have any better recordings already made to use. This thing with my hands has been a chronic issue and there's no telling when I might get them back. But I've been thinking a lot about getting someone else to try out the program and demo it instead. Is there a utopian category for that? Somewhere to request beta testers/video makers?

Nice detailed feedback! keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57676.72
ETH 2356.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39