You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #3 Promoting Translation in Utopian.io - Growing Performance in First Group of Translation teams

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Hello Rosa!

Here, on your 3rd post in the series, I am going to give some more clarifications about recent changes in the category to help you through. At least I will be trying :)

There are 2 main problems I could see in the post which I would consider as critical. And they are mostly about the approach to the chosen sections of the post.

First, A section of the post, which is basically about levels and improvement of performance, explains its main point with too many abstract sentences. Using this kind of approach in one of the sections of the body usually creates a dull reading experience since readers will be probably waiting for your solid point in a clear wording like it's done in thesis statements or a little more didactic posts even though it's not the concept here.

What I would suggest as a solution to such an approach and choice problem is classifying the sentences as main(or argument) and support sentences while planning the post structure. Then, choosing a good ratio depending on the density of the argument related to the main point. Although supportive sentences are required to reflect a view in almost all kinds of editorial content, an imbalance of these two creates a must-avoid situation. Therefore, picking the right ratio is very critical.

Besides, A section is too general to be one of the main parts of an open source related blog post. It's simply talking about performance and way too abstract to differ from general self-development content.

Considering B section, the thing which is not the good choice there is providing the whole section as a report, in a format wouldn't be appreciated in a blog post. I think I can say that most of the blog readers don't like to read raw reports in the flow of the post.

In a nutshell, the first main section is not directly open source related, and the second one is a report which is not to be considered as an additional value(even though it's a little subjective) to the community. And since they also lack in general writing as I have told above, it is a very weak blog post.

I think I pointed out everything I could. While hoping that my feedback creates a positive result, I want to thank you for your contributions and efforts for Utopian.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thanks @roj for the time to put in the review and also constructive comments. Will keep this in mind when I do the 4th one in this category next week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49