You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the reward pool share of vote sellers, bid bots and autovotes?

Great analysis. No wonder it's taken you so long to post since last time!

What I take away from those two pie charts are the small no.of votes from bid bots compared to large overall vote value in relation to the large number of steem auto votes compared to relatively small value.

So this must be case of a few wealthy players buying themselves votes via bid-bots and then the medium to small level players spreading their votes relatively thin via auto voters.

I don't think personalized auto voting is all bad, as long as you review it every few weeks!

Also aren't smartsteem and minnowbooster basically 'bid-bots' too, essentially?

Sort:  

Thanks, @revisesociology! I was offline for a couple of days, so it wasn't all about preparing this post ;)
Your take-away is correct. I agree, that auto-voting isn't bad per-se. I use it as well and I don't see a general problem with it. I think we all knew before that a good fraction of votes is automated, seeing some numbers gives a bit more of a feeling on the orders of magnitude.

Also aren't smartsteem and minnowbooster basically 'bid-bots' too, essentially?

I'm not sure I fully understand. Direct votes from these accounts are included in the bid-bot/paid votes column. What was unknown before is the number and value of votes that were cast via private accounts using those two vote-selling proxies.

Oh OK - I must have just misread... about the SS and MB being a subset of bots....

Still, it's not actually as botified as I thought.

Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66