Minecolonies & The little things in life #5

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

After we had gotten a bunch of issue reports in the last weeks as:

https://github.com/Minecolonies/minecolonies/issues/2223
https://github.com/Minecolonies/minecolonies/issues/2219
https://github.com/Minecolonies/minecolonies/issues/2219

I saw the need for another issue resolving PR again.
Let's get right to it.

Issue: 2219

Players were having problems to understand why the miner isn't working for them The problem was that the miner can't mine certain ores at certain building levels but doesn't notify the player about that accordingly.

So I added some code to where we verify this in case the miner won't be able to use any tool he might be provided to mine a certain ore.
Also including the position of the said block.

So, he'd print:

If he runs into this.

Issue: 2223

Another issue arises when a player removes the schematic from the server or client while a worker is trying to build it.
This lead to two problems:

a) This had the Builder throw exceptions and,
b) This crashed the world on load because we were trying to load the construction tape.

Therefore, I had to provide two fixes.

a) Have the builder discard said build order and,
b) Avoid loading the construction tape on world load since we don't need it.

The first one I resolved adding a try and catch around where we handle the NBT.

When he is unable to work with it he will discard the work order.

For b) I added that the word order handling is able to separate between loading on NBT and actual addition to it.

If it is on world loading (reading from NBT) he won't react to it to try to place the tape.

Issue: 2213

That was actually my fault, I forgot that we call the block side we hit on "side" and thought it was side as client or server so I always called the whole destroy effects on the blocks which caused a mess.

So I readded the separation in the right method.

Issue: 2217

This one was the trickiest one, the problem is that our lumberjack tries to cut down certain structures of our colony since he thinks they are trees, meaning he tries to cut down buildings with logs with connected leaves in them and dirt under it.

For that, I had to put in the tree search (which we handle in the Pathfinder) an instance of the colony.

And then each time check if the tree he is trying to cut is inside any colony and is not inside a building.

For that, I go through the list of all buildings and check if the tree he found is within the x/z corners of any of the buildings.


I hope you liked our small quality of life fixes today and maybe even inspired you to participate in similar projects.

If you're interested in contributing as a graphic artist, sound artist, developer or similar in our team just contact me on steemit-chat.

See you the next time.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @raycoms I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thanks for sharing these resolved issue. Though most of them looked jargons to me.

infrometive post

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for understanding the importance of Friends, I liked it very much for you that you have shared many beautiful lives with us all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3748.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68