Minecolonies & The little things in life

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

After the last huge updates we had, we decided to focus on a few of the smaller errors to improve our overall gaming performance and to fix several small issues we were having.

So I took a pack of issues on our github and started working on them.


Issue #1: here

First of all, a few weeks ago one of our mods accidentially removed his own colony and deleted all buildings because he didn't know that if you execute our "/mc colony delete" command without params it will destroy the colony of the executer.

Therefore, I added a nice command prompt to avoid people accidentially removing their colony.

This way no one should be able to delete their colony by accident anymore.

The code for this was quite simple as well.

I simple that the command expects an additional "true" with it to make the instant delete. So it simply reexecutes the command on "delete click" with the additional "true" with it.


Issue #2: here

Players were reporting that the shingles block I introduced a few posts ago instant deletes when you click on it.

I basically just forgot to set the hardness correctly of the block

After increasing the hardness constant to 3 it is just perfect now.


Issue #3: here

Then I noticed that our construction tape block code is quite ugly since we have 1 block for the corner and 1 block for the straight part.
This is a) a lot of duplicated code and b) Not a good style.

I therefore extended the first block to adapt itself as the shingles
read up here.

Just ignore the yellow part, it's sonar complaining about too many logic operators. But it's basically:

Check if two corner directions are connected with another constructiontape and if yes, switch to the cornertape style.

And then I removed the old block, added some small parts and ready.

100 lines of duplicated code less in our repository.


I fixed two more things which our project manager found when he was making some new promo videos for us.

First I fixed some language strings which were missing.

Which are for the townhall GUI.

Then, do you guys remember the refactor madness?
We forgot to add a check if the stack which should be compared with an ore is valid at all:

Fortunately we have an util method for that already.

And lastly, a user reported a bug, which I wasn't able to reproduce but on the way I found another Issue which I fixed as well.
Also regarding to my refactor madness, I didn't notice that permission changes do not trigger a new colony save so, if you change permission and then shut down the game, it won't be saved.

Basically just marking the colony as dirty on any permission dirty change.

That's all for today folks, the next weeks we'll publish 1-2 big updates, but we will try to focus on more of the smaller issues, to finally decrease the amount of issues we have and to make our gaming experience more solid.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @reggaemuffin, I just gave you a tip for your hard work on moderation. Upvote this comment to support the utopian moderators and increase your future rewards!

Hey @raycoms I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Good to see you finally got the post posted.

A month ago, I played your mod. Now I'm surprised when I see it here. Good job! :)

=D Glad to hear that, hope you liked it.

I didn't play and don't remember that much. Only thing I remember is villagers were spamming the chat, "I'm hungry." :D

Should've built a restaurant =D

Whoa! Minecolony is still a thing? I remember playing with that mod well over 4 years ago. Nice that it isn't dead and forgotten. Never really found a mod like Minecolony again.

We resurrected it and rewrote it better =D

I am surprised something this serious is being brought to steemit. I truly am underestimating this platform. Can't really get a good grasp around its potential

Did I just found a minecraft blog? Awesome

Definitely =D It's mostly about minecraft and coding, but you should definitely check out our modification

one of the pitfalls of working collaboratively is someone else deleting everything.

Fortunately he removed his own colony =D

a nice update

wow that was an amazing improvement cool good job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85