New Project: Steem Exif Spider Bot

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Motivation


I was corresponding about ideas with @sambillingham one day when the idea of adding exif data to posts came up.

I decided to take it a step further into the realm of blockchain spiders, and I created a bot that spiders the blockchain for EXIF information. It then upvotes the post/comment it finds the EXIF information on and leaves the EXIF information in a comment.

image.png

Requirements

  • Docker Everything is self-contained within a docker image.

Usage

docker run --rm -e STEEM_NAME=$STEEM_NAME -e STEEM_WIF=$STEEM_WIF  -e VOTING_WEIGHT=500 r351574nc3/steem-exif-spider-bot:latest

Implementation

This was implemented using javascript and the following modules:

  • steem-js steem api
  • bluebird promises
  • exifreader reading exif data
  • handlebars for the comment template

The bot sieves through transactions from steem.api.streamOperations. It looks for Image property of json_metadata. If it finds any, this image is processed and pruned in exifreader. Once tags have been parsed, they're reprocessed through handlebars to create a comment body. The comment body is then reposted to the original post with an upvote.

Roadmap

  • Convert to Typescript
  • Add UI for configuration
  • Add queue for commenting/voting
  • Configurable/more selective about EXIF data
  • Find older posts.

Contributing




Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Moar like this!

@hungryhustle you will like this bot :)

This is great @omitaylor. Thanks for tagging me here!

Similar to @exifr. :')

Great to see you made this! Nice work. 💯

It's not ideal. I think what I suggested to you is a much better plan. Bots annoy the hell out of people. This will only serve to get me more negative attention. LOL. It's mostly to convince myself it wasn't just pie in the sky.

Still highly encourage you to implement this in a more cohesive way.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Interesting project and good post. Just a little suggestion: Since your repository contains multiple bots, I would always put a link to the respective sub-directory directly into the post.

Keep up to good work!

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Friend, very good post, it has great content, keep it up, you have a great future, I welcome you to Steemit, I'll follow you, i love the new projects

Hello you,What a great inspirational story! Thank you for sharing it with us!

Can you update your repo according to this rule "The repository must contain a readme file with usage and install instructions, as well as an appropriate open source license."

I don't get it.

Sorry for the confusion here. I don't know what I'm missing.

Hey @r351574nc3 I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46