Display or pin posts on the profile page

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

This is a small suggestion but the post will go into the importance of this feature from the point of view of the author and the audience.

Currently when you go into a profile page on busy.org this is similar to what you would see:

image.png

Imagine that you are a new user and you wanted to know about this person and whether you should follow him/her or not. Of course you could look at things like reputation and the people that they follow, but what about one of the most important things that we are all asked to write, which is the introduceyourself post. How would you be able to find that through their feed? Well right now I would go to steemtracked.com and put my username in their and go back as far as I can to guess when I wrote that introduceyourself post:

image.png

This is where I think the ability to pin at least one post on your profile page will dramatically improve the experience on seeing someone's profile page and see how they have developed as a steemian over the course of their time here.

I can imagine that there are other things that someone might want to pin on their profile page to give a potential fellow steemian an idea of what you are all about. A good example might be that post which you are really proud of but maybe didn't get much attention because you were still very new and had no followers?

image.png

Or what about that post which got your first big break on busy.org (mine was actually a utopian.io suggestion by the way!):

image.png

So I hope you can see how important that first impression might be when you visit someone's profile page, and how we should be doing more to improve the user experience on the profile page (I will have more posts/suggestions I hope) because that first impression counts a lot and if you happen to see that someone has just been reblogging a lot of other people's post then it is hard to have to scroll through a lot of content to find out more about that user who just might be your soulmate/twinflame on busy.org!

By the way, I am still hoping that my tag based navigation system will get another look at:

image.png

I'd love to pin this up on my profile page so the UX designers and developers that want to follow me might get another look at the idea and consider it :)

Otherwise with the other pages that already display posts in different ways I feel like we are not making much use of the profile page to our advantage, which is for people to get to know each other better and build a closer-knit community.

image.png

I think first impressions do count, so I hope this will make you think of other ways to improve the My Profile page and create a better user experience for both the author and the audience.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @plushzilla I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you at 3% Power!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. My vote is now primarily based on that, humans rule. Good luck!
  • Wondering why other contributions got more? I introduced a competition factor. My vote is also based on how competitive the category used is.

Did you know?

  • I am going to become the first Steem Community-Driven Witness. Follow me to know when!
    Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

@utopian-io - would be amazing to have a first Steem Community-Driven Witness. Keep us updated!

Your contribution can't be approved yet. See the Utopian rules. Please edit your post and choose the correct category (i recommend "suggestion")


You can contact us on Discord
[utopian-moderator]

@knowledges - thanks for the comment. I have updated the tag accordingly.

Thank you for your contribution. It has been approved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42