October Steemit Posts Bench Marking Report - Business Intelligence Steemit

in #utopian-io7 years ago

A little late with the bench-marking report this month as I was learning a bit of SQL to re-write my queries. All of the data for this report has been taken from steemsql database held and managed by @arcange. Not knowing SQL has caused a few problems, but I hope I have now resolved this on my side. As always I have connected to the data using Power BI.

The aim of this report is to establish a benchmark for posts that I can compare my progress against and that you can also use to see how you are faring out on Steemit

This analysis looks at Posts only and not comments

The following SQL query was used

           SELECT *   
             FROM Comments (NOLOCK)
             where created >= CONVERT(datetime,'10/01/2017') 
             and created< CONVERT(datetime,'11/01/2017')
            and depth = 0

After this I used the query editor in Power BI to remove any unwanted columns before loading the data into the model. From here, I used Data Analysis expressions (DAX) to preform various calculations on the data and data subsets.

Financial Performance
1.png

Taking in all posts, the average payment for October is $2.2, down from $2.63 in September. The number of posts with payouts of $151+ is also down from 475 in September to 258 in October. Down over 50%. Only 5% of posts received a payout of $11+

An important factor in the payout value is the price of STEEM, The Average price of STEEM for the month of Sept was $1.25 and in October it was $1.07. This is a 14% decrease.

How did I preform against this in October, the table below represents the payouts on my posts.
3.png

Votes

4.png

In October 90% of posts received 50 or less votes, this is up from 88% in September. It is also interesting to see the number of posts with a net down vote has increased by 37%.

I am happy to see that only 26% of my posts received less than 51 votes. On saying that I do use Minnowsupport, which gives posts that extra boost when it comes to votes.

5.png

Comments

6.png

Comments on posts for me is so important. It means that people are actually reading and engaging with the post. Okay there are some bot comments but I still feel Comments is a very good indicator on how well a post has been received.

Comparing my posts and the bench marking, 40% of my posts received 11 or more comments whereas overall on steemit only 8% of posts received this level of comments.

So there you have it, Octobers bench marking report. What indicators do you use to measure your growth on Steemit? How do you compare to the overall steemit performance? Posts your comments below and let me know

I am part of a Steemit Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #BIsteemit. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit data, please do contact me or any of the #bisteemit team and we will do our best to help you...

you can find #bisteemit on discord https://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

@paulag - measuring growth on steemit can be quite tricky when you don't have a steady or routine pattern of posting, or if you are posting in multiple categories like I am at the moment. I think for new people the most important factor seems to be the number of followers, in particular the reputation of the followers like the data you get on steemtracked.com (they call it Audience):

I still think comments and upvotes are a good long term measure of growth if you have been around for a while and have a steady following, but the payout is easily affected by the voting power of the person that sees the posts. And anyone with a lot of voting power is likely to see a lot of posts without necessarily wanting to dilute the power/value of their vote so I do wonder if different whales have different preferences or strategies (I would like to read about it if they ever write something like that).

Followers is a big thing, and active followers is even bigger, its like footfall to a shop.

Hey @paulag I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 15% Power!

Achievements

  • Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
  • You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
    Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thanks for the insight @paulag. I think the payment of my posts are above average so I consider myself fortunate.

As to votes from Minnowsupport, I am in two minds. I do like them a lot, they are a great support and boost to self confidence when little or no one else is voting for you. However, like all bot votes, the downside being lack of interaction and they're not reading your post. I also feel a bit guilty using them sometimes as the upvotes may far exceed the upvotes from real upvoters hence eroding the latter's curator rewards (but I can't quantify the impact).

I haven't been using minnowsupport as much now. I think once you get the followers up, then using services like this are not as necessary

Hey @paulag,

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.


You can contact us on Discord or on official website Utopian-moderators
For the posting rules, check Rules

I'd bet by taking comments that repeat themselves - "good post, nice informations" (or some such throw-away thing) you'd find that most of the comments being left were bots.

Prove me wrong, but that is how it feels in a lot of posts lately.

oh I am might analyse word counts on comments, that could be good!

Nice analysis. I look at payout and comments. The upvotes change so much as bots come and go within the Steemit system. I didn't make many posts at all in October, so my engagement was down. All my posts have above average payout, but only was exceeded $11. I don't use bots, so I don't see their effect in my payouts or comments. All my posts had more than 11 comments -- but I try to answer comments from other folks, so some of the count is from my own comments. I appreciate seeing the distribution breakdown for all the benchmarks you use. It helps put a lot of things in better context.

you are doing well. $11 can make a big difference for a lot of people.

Answering comments is very important I think. If someone takes the time to read your post and write a comment it should be acknowledged in some form

Thanks, I am not a bot, I like to learn from all of this B.I.
and you rock on this shh... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55