June ‘18 Steemit Post Bench-marking Report – BlockChain Business Intelligence

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Repository

https://github.com/steemit/steem  

Every month I produce a Post bench-marking report with the aims of:

• Aiding the Steemit Community with a place to benchmark their posts and growth

• Create a report that can be used for comparisons in other periods

• To track my personal targets and record achievements

Over the last few months I have added new data to this report, including comparisons to the same period last year, top earn authors and authors with the highest number of votes.  Last month I added details of flags and this month I have added more statistical calculations to the mix, as per requests :-) 

Please note this data is based on Posts and not Comments.

If you missed last month’s full report you can read it here:

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@paulag/may-steemit-post-benchmarking-report-blockchain-business-intelligence

Financial Performance

June 17 Report

May ’18 Report

June ‘18 Report

  

In June ’18 the % of posts with No pay-out was almost 21% up from 14.55% in May.  Although in April ’17 this was 56.23%

The % of posts with a pay-out of <$1 is down to 59.47% from 63.99% in May.  The number of posts that earned over $500 reduced from 66 in May to 54 in June.

  

The average post pay-out value in June was $2.08, May ’18 was $2.73. In April ’18 was $3.18. In March it was $1.76 SBD, $2.56 SBD in Feb and $3.81 SBD in Jan.  If we exclude posts with no pay-out the average post pay-out increases to $2.62 SBD.  In JMay the average post pay-out excluding post with no pay-out was $3.20 SBD. 

The median payout value was $0.04 with a standard deviation of 11.17

In June '17 these stats were

The number of posts decreased from May 18 to June 18 by 25%, and the pay-out value decreased by 43% for the same period.

However, from June’17 to June ’18 the number of posts increased by 133% and the total pay-out value was down by 46%

My Stats

 

With the same number of posts in May and June, my total post pay-out is only down almost 51%.  This month I had 53% of posts in the pay-out range of < $20 SBD and less than 6% of my posts earned more than $101.  My posts have earned on average $24 which is considerably higher than the average post on Steemit.

Top Authors based on pay-outs

 

From this report we can see that many of the top earns from last month are still on the list.  @burnpost is still in the top list, showing a little karma!

Top Category’s

  

Dlive has been slowly creeping up the ladder and is now the top category. 

Comments

June ‘17

 

May ‘18

  

June '18

  

The % of posts with no comments is up down from 45.72% in May to only 34.29% in June.   This is offset with the % of posts with 1 comment.  This is up from almost 20% to almost 26% in June and the %of posts with 2-10 comments is also up from 27.9% to 33%. 

This increase in the % of posts with comments could be down to bots or it could be down to fewer posts to engage with.

Statistical Calculations

June '18

June '17

 

My Stats

  

 

In June 31% of my post received 51+ comments. 

Votes

June ‘17

May ‘18

  


June ‘18

 

 

The % of posts with 0 net votes has increased from 8.9% in May to 10.2% in June. 

Statistical Calculations

The average number of votes per post in June ‘18 was 21, up from 17.72 in May ‘18.  The median is 5.

In June 17 these values were

Flags

In votes above we also have flags, however combined only1.27% of posts had a net downvote.  This is up from 0.82% the previous month.

91K posts received 1 or more flags( this is posts not comments).  This makes up 10.26% of all posts made.  This is up from 3.97% the previous month.

In the first table we can see the authors with the highest % of flags and after this we can see the time series for when flags were given

 

My Stats

 

Awesome 100% of my posts received 51+ votes without the use of voting bots.    

Other Data

  

The line chart above represents the number of new posts per day in June 18 and the bar chart below that shows the peak posting hours.

Conclusion

As the price of STEEM and SBD was on a downward trend in June, this has had a direct impact in the worth of a vote and so the financial performance of posts.

The number of posts made this month was down on last month by 25%, however the payouts were down by a greater % which is disappointing to see.

With regards to my own data, I am rather disappointed in the results.  However it seems from the data that a lot of stuff is down, less posts, lower payouts.  It will be interesting to see how July turns out as it 'feels' to me like the platform is very quiet.

So how did your posts preform in June ’18?  - Please do comment below and let me know.

The Data source and Query

As always I have connected to Steemsql managed by @arcange using Power BI and the query is used

for 2018 data was


     SELECT
     author,
    category,
     created,
     children,
     total_payout_value,
     net_votes,
     pending_payout_value
     FROM 
     Comments (NOLOCK)
      where created >= CONVERT(DATE,'2018-06-01')
     and created< CONVERT(DATE,'2018-07-01')
    and depth = 0



And 2017 query was



    SELECT
    author,
    category,
    created,
    children,
    total_payout_value,
    net_votes,
    pending_payout_value
     FROM 
    Comments (NOLOCK)
    where created >= CONVERT(DATE,'2017-06-01')
     and created< CONVERT(DATE,'2017-07-01')
    and depth = 0


Sort:  

I felt good in June. And i don't really feel the same in July. I can make up to 4$ i every post of mine in June. But in July I can barely make it to 1$. Yes, i also feel the quite.

Thanks for bringing us the data and analysis, Ma'am.

It feels very quiet this month, I thought it might be just me because with the kids on holidays from school i am rather distracted anyways. I also think my payouts will be on average down too this month

I have found recently that the return just isn't there for me to spend the time putting together a post. I still poke around to see what everyone is up to, but I don't even bother looking at the trending page anymore. The state of the platform is not good in my opinion.

Is that a feeling about the state of the platform?

it is very difficult when the payouts are low but it is also an opportunity. If less people are posting then there is more of a chance of your post being found. Always look on the bright side :-)

Miss Paulag,

Any idea how much, less posts and less votes, influence the inflation rate?

I mean the virtual inflation rate, not the fixed inflation rate.

I looked for some sort of correlation before and didn't come up with anything

Miss Paulag,

Could you agree that monetary inflation (increase in supply) and price inflation (increase in price) of SBD influence the overall platform inflation rate? How much new steem is created everyday? (reward-pool).

I keep my spreadsheets current with voting values for @steembasicincome on a daily basis. One thing that I have noticed is that upvote values shown in Steemit (STU's) can behave in strange ways relative to price movements.
The user base grows more quickly than the reward pool, the % of total Steem voting power utilized responds to changes in crypto pricing, and the reward calculations use 3.5 day moving average of price feeds instead of live prices. These interact in somewhat surprising ways. Plus there are other factors.

Someday I would like to do a deep dive into trends across these components and suss out the real relationships and statistical evidence, to enhance my own understanding, but I have other priorities right now.

Why would you go that route? enhance your understanding of what?

To enhance my understanding of how those market forces and blockchain incentives actually interplay in practice. Understanding game theory, as applied to real world situations, is extremely helpful in the crypto space.

Demand and Supply. Maximization of one's own payoff as a traditional economic model are the market forces in play.

Game Theory is non-existent on the STEEM blockchain.

do you really have to self vote every comment you leave?

Miss Paulag, greed is still greed even if it reaches for heaven.


There is a reinforcing loop (selfvote / upvote) also called a positive feedback loop active on the steem blockchain in which an action produces a result which influences more of the same action, resulting in growth.

This reinforcing loop (selfvote / upvote) is one of the two foundational structures of complex adaptive systems thinking implemented on the steem blockchain, the other being the balancing loop also called negative feedback loop (flag / downvote) in which an action produces a result which push in the opposite direction, a decline, and not growth.

So it attempts to move some current state (the way things are) to a desired state (goal or objective) ... you should have flagged me, or downvoted me ... but you didn't because you like me, as I like you.

What is this desired state (goal or objective)?

Whose desired state (goal or objective) is it?

With answering these questions we come upon some shady stuff.

We enter the arena of fixed inflation, virtual inflation, reward-pool, vested shares and stakeholders! All under the disquise of gamification.

This shady stuff, this added game perspective must be frowned upon.

In what desired state do you want to have me, before you kiss me?

if you do dive into the stats, do ping me. Would love to see what you come up with

well... i have lot of potential projects on my shelf. Maybe someday.

Well... i have lot of
Potential projects on my
Shelf. Maybe someday.

                 - josephsavage


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Potential projects-
On my shelf, I have many
All await someday.

-@josephsavage

I'm a person. If I want a haiku, I'll write it as a haiku.

Wow! Intentional haiku is way better!

Hi @paulag, thanks for your contribution, it has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

thank you

Hey @paulag
Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Thank you for the statistics... well done... 👍🏼
For me the main hurdle to keep more steemians posting is the really low median payout in the range of 0.04 to 0.17. It need to be 10 times as much to hold people here. Don’t ask me how to manage it but I can understand that newbies just go away after some post. If there is no payout of course you can stay on the better known platforms.

seems to be the sentiment of many. however as the payouts are low, its time to accumulate and hold till it gets higher

Yes, with the assumption that SBD tends to be 1 USD the total payout calculated in STEEM - on the condition that you always convert your SBD into STEEM - should be the same at the end. Thus the payout payed in STEEM in fact isn't affected and - as you said - it's good to hold it till STEEM is traded higher.
But in addition the many upvotes which are below the threshold and drop out are an additional real 'loss'.
Hope my sight about this is correct...

@paulag Your post was selected and voted by the curator @pataty69 project that can be followed on my trail at Steemauto. I always track my personal data and I try to increase my performance.

hay @pataty69, thanks for the vote

Hi paulag. A lot of work done on this one. the platform has got very quiet over the last 6 weeks. I believe it is only down to the price of Steem.

I think the price is around the same as this time last year?

I wasn't on here then. Just what I have noticed in the last few months.

I wasn't on here
Then. Just what I have noticed
In the last few months.

                 - cryptoandcoffee


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Steemit is a little empty atm, the bear market has taken it's tool on us, but i guess this is actually an opportunity to develop strong bonds with other steemians...

I would love to see a total post payout without voting bots though...

if the voting bots did not vote, it is not a matter of just deduction these votes because the used SP or Rshares is then different and everyones vote worth changes

yes I agree, time to develop strong bonds while we can

"and the bar chart below that shows the peak posting hours"
Could you tell me the time zone used for the graphic? Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83