Utopian.io Logo Re-design

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

08.png

Details

I think Utopian.io really needs a brand identity.
I made a little search abot what's utopian since there is no design brief unfortunately.

According to wikipedia
utopia (/juːˈtoʊpiə/ yoo-TOH-pee-ə) is an imagined community or society that possesses highly desirable or nearly perfect qualities for its citizens. The opposite of a utopia is a dystopia. One could also say that utopia is a perfect "place" that has been designed so there are no problems.

The word comes from Greek: οὐ ("not") and τόπος ("place") and means "no-place", and strictly describes any non-existent society 'described in considerable detail'. However, in standard usage, the word's meaning has narrowed and now usually describes a non-existent society that is intended to be viewed as considerably better than contemporary society. Eutopia, derived from Greek εὖ ("good" or "well") and τόπος ("place"), means "good place", and is strictly speaking the correct term to describe a positive utopia. In English, eutopia and utopia are homophonous, which may have given rise to the change in meaning.

Then I made a visual search about utopia and all graphics that I came across was shaped like another planet. There is a general way of thinking that utopia is like another planet. That's what I already thinking. Also inspiring from the current logo, I designed something like a planet /meteoroid like abstract logo, which also looks like a U letter. If you allow your imagination you may be able to see an utopian coming to you.

Colors, sticked by current ones with red and blue alternatives. Current one makes sense because dark blue with purple generally used for space-related projects.
Typography and naming, used Utopian.io because people prone to search for .com addresses first. If there is no intent to buy that domain, this approach is make sense for non-tld domains.

Benefits / Improvements

Current logo / branding has no clear information, I couldn't find any vector version nor font information. That png file will not be enough for printing / advirtisiment purposes. For now users of utopian can't even use it as a digital promotion asset in their videos or else.

01.png
02.png
03.png


04.png
05.png

bonus.png
06.png

oldvsnew.png


present1.jpg
present2.jpg
present3.jpg
present4.jpg


07.png
08.png

Tools

Affinity Designer
Adobe Photoshop

Original files

Mockups: Designed by Freepik & GrapicBurger
Font: Montserrat
Files: Download



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

For days I did not look at your blog and I've missed good post yours.

especially this utopian I liked it a lot ... You have done a very good study here ..
for my taste this corporate image would work very for utupian ..

congratulations for your contribution ...
blessings my friend

Thank you, my main goal was provoke Utopian designers to work on Utopian, but it didn't work :)

hehee :) .. Maybe it was a seed ... let's leave it time

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

  • Did you receive feedback from community? I quite like it, I can imagine it as a new Utopian mark.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you, you are so kind.

Screen Shot 2018-01-21 at 03.48.04.png
I should work on marketing. "-thoughts?" is not much a conversation starter. :)

Hey @oups I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

SVG logos you provided are in raster formats....

I've just checked again with Adobe Illustrator CC, and looks normal to me. Can you share a screenshot I don't know I can try to export as EPS, PDF or something.

Screen Shot 2018-01-20 at 02.41.05.png

Edit: It looks like rasterized on Google Drive preview.

Looks beautiful!

Thank you fuzeh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89