Utopian registration process - Design

in #utopian-io7 years ago

As some of you may know10 days ago Utopian.io received 50K liquid Steem from @Ned, to create new accounts directly from Utopian.io

And for Utopian.io be able to create accounts it's necessary to design and develop the registration process. At the same time, @elear was calling for developers and designers, and I decided to do the design part.

So, today I am writing this update to show you the Utopian registration process design. Because Utopian.io isn't just a project is a Community and everyone should know what we are working on.
signup.png

Registration process scenarios:

Scenario 1 - In the first scenario the social info is enough:

1. The user chooses a social account to sign up for Utopian;
2. And if all the social info are good the user will receive an email confirming his account is approved with a link to configure the account;
3. Then the user can choose their account name;
4. On the next step the user received the password and must save it;
5. After password saved the user is prompt to login into Utopian and starts participating in this new open-source economy.

Prototype link:

https://invis.io/43ELWO66C#/265465608_Step_1
(keep in mind this is a prototype made with images, isn't code)

Scenario 2 - In the second scenario the social info isn't enough and we ask for email and phone number.
1. the user choose a social account to sign up for Utopian, but the social info isn't good enough to validate the identity
2. the user will need to validate the email address;
3. after the email the will the user need to validate a phone number;
4. Insert the validation code sent to the phone number the user gave in the previous step;
5. The user will receive an email confirming his account is approved with a link to configure the account;
6. Then the user can choose their account name;
7. On the next step the user received the password and must save it;
8. After password saved the user is prompt to login into Utopian and starts participating in this new open-source economy.

Prototype link:

https://invis.io/43ELWO66C#/265470700_Step_1_-_No_Valid_Social_Info
(keep in mind this is a prototype made with images, isn't code)
PS: the "check inbox" button is just for navigate in the prototype

Thanks for your attention! Stay tuned if you want to see more.

Who am I?

UX/UI designer based in Lisbon with 5 years of experience and a strong design background - User Experience design, Product design, Prototyping, UX Analysis, UX Audits, eCommerce, and Mobile Apps.

Follow me on Steemit: https://steemit.com/@nelsonm
Follow me on Utopian: http://utopian.io/@nelsonm
Follow me on Dribbble: https://dribbble.com/nelsonmarteleria
Add me on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/nelson-marteleira-7434b648/
My portfolio: http://nelsonmarteleira.com/
Interested in working on a project https://nelson123.typeform.com/to/hPkfmp



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hi @nelsonm and @elear , first of all I want to say that @utopian-io is great.
I have a question about the rewards from @utopian-io . I just got a reward from my first contribution in utopian, and I had around $40 to be paid on the post. What happened when I checked, the full payout was reduced to $33.33. Is this possible?
(I have another post that will be rewarded in 2 days. It is also a $40 post. I will see what happens by then).
Then another question, is that I chose 50% and 50% in rewards, and I got, $27 in SP, and around $0.300 in SBD. So from the $40 post, I was downgraded to $33.33, and then I got $27 in SP, $0.300 in SBD , and around $6 for curators.
So, I really don't know what happened with the other $6 dollars I had for the post, because from the $40, I just got $33.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Regards,
@gold84

Hello @gold84. As for the 50 / 50 there was a small bug that has been fixed few days ago. On your new posts you will get 50 / 50 as expected and not entirely SP. As for the reduced amount you should know that a portion of your rewards are given back to the sponsors and to the moderators since it is thanks to them that utopian works. That amount fluctuates from 15% to 25%.

@elear understood and thanks for taking the time to answer this questions for me! The utopian-io creation is amazing and you will do great, this is just the start.

The only other question I have is regarding the way of accounting this. If my post initially showed $40. It should write for instance: $26 for author, $6 for curators, $6 for sponsors like @ned and moderators. The thing here is that initially my post should $40, but sometime not sure when the $40 dissapeared, and it only shows $33,33 now. And it says $26 for author and $6 for curators, and nothing about sponsors, etc. Do you think this is something you are working on in connection with the steemit programming? And future ones will show correct? Hope I explained myself correctly.
Thanks in advance for your feedback! @gold84

The value will fluctuate until the payout that's at 7 days after post creation, so it's only locked in at that point. Steem value rises and falls so that will effect the dollar value of your post even if the votes wouldn't change at all. I'm sure more comprehensive information about how the payout will be splitted will be provided. The Utopian is still very young project.

@igster I got your point. In this case the value from $40 to $33 was not because of the steem value fluctuation at that point. Those $6 were for the moderators and sponsors payout. However, my question is more referred to why that $6 difference was not reflected on payout (Only author payout and curators showed). My question is more to see if this is something that is being worked. Just trying to think in a loud voice to perhaps see if this is something that could be fixed in the future. I enjoy seeing the progress and improvements, and helping those things to be discovered. Thanks for sharing your knowledge on this. @gold84

I'm sure this will be fixed in future. When platform is being built, every single feature can't be 100% thought out and in finished state. And this is a small thing but, of course, important for the user.

Agreed with you @igster ! I believe several surprises will happen for us in the short, mid and long term on steem, eos and bitshares. Thanks following up on this. @gold84

You hoo!!! Lisbon rocks! And so do you! Thank you!!!!!

Thanks @inquiringtimes. I remember you from the SteemFest :)

Could this become a plugin like Steemconnect that can be implemented on every page and not just Utopian?

@flauwy Yes that is the mission

Hey @nelsonm I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you at 7% Power!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!
  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • I introduced a competition factor. My vote is based also on how competitive the category used is.

Human Curation

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hi, my name is Nelson too, is that project still not true? or are there people on this page? is that I still do not understand very well. please follow me and I will follow you and please vote my post.

Hi @djnial you can learn about the project here http://join.utopian.io/

Parece-me bem ;) continuação de um bom trabalho Nelson, Btw o teu portfólio é invejável

This is a wonderful contribution sir. It will be quite a feat if this is put through.

Thanks, @josediccus. Yes, will be a big step for @Utopian-io

So what is the need for social accounts ???

Why don't you give direct email sign up box instead of these social accounts

@vikasjaat because the social connect is useful to verify the idendity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.73
ETH 3108.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50