Sort:  

Hello @nathanbrown, that is a very good question ! That is indeed one of the thing I would to to archive.

In fact the API call is only executing a request on SteemSQL and returning the result in JSON format.
I had to use the API since SteemSQL now requires a paid account.

Like I said, this is on the list for future developments, I think it could be archived by using another source which would be public to execute the same query (probably not in SQL) and fetch the same data in a efficient way (not sure querying the blockchain directly would be efficient enough).

I would be really interested if you have lead I could follow on this.

Sorry, I got no leads for you to follow. I just want the simple and easy solution handed to me ;-)

Sure no worries, let me tackle this. I like challenges and will try several way to archive a solution ;-)

If you get it solved, please let me know. I think if you figure this out and announce it with a post on Steemit.com, you'll probably get some good traction with it as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80