Steemit Suggestion: Human Readable Error Messages!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone! I've been on Steemit for some time now, and as all frequent users have seen, Steemit has never been without a few error messages popping up from time to time. For example, last week I attempted to publish a post I wrote, and was met with these lovely messages:

image.png

image.png

However, I have no idea what exactly this means, as the error message is very vague and not so human-readable either. The worst part is that I can say with good certainty that this is the single most seen/popular error message on Steemit (yet nobody knows exactly what it means).

Prevent Double Posting

When most people (or at least myself) see this message they try to publish the post once more (by pressing the "Post" or "Update" button). I did this myself a couple times, resulting in a duplicate post.

Because the error message was so vague and not well-documented, I didn't know that my first post actually did go through even though I got the error.

However, most of the time it does not go through, leading to inconsistency and uncertainty, and a lot of duplicate posts. These bugs happen all the time, even to large and popular users like @kingscrown (see here).

Need for Human Readability

While some errors are easy to understand, such as the You may only comment every 20 seconds one, others are completely garbled:

SyntaxError: Unexpected Token < in JSON at position 0

The above is a real error I received a week ago, though I forgot to take a screenshot. I didn't know exactly what it meant because I don't code in JavaScript or use JSON, but I thought it had something to do with there being a < as the first character in my post or in my title.

Spoiler: There wasn't an < sign anywhere in my post, or my title. I Googled the error, leading to this page which didn't help that much anyways. I had to reload the page and try again.

Suggestion: Explain and/or Document Errors!

I would be happy with one of two solutions, or a merge of both.

Solution 1: Detailed Messages

The first one is to have human readable and detailed error messages that tell the user exactly what to do to circumvent the error, and what the error means. To this day, I'm not sure what Transaction Broadcast Error means, but if it meant what I think it means, Steemit could try posting this message:


Transaction Broadcast Error!
Steemit had an unknown bug right now, and your post could not be published. Please reload the page and try again!

In my opinion this error message is much more useful, so users know what's going on and so they don't get the wrong idea.

Solution 2: Documentation

The second solution is to have good documentation for errors, perhaps on the new Developer Portal Steemit announced. Whenever an error occurs, Steemit could show the overall error code such as Transaction Broadcast Error if they wanted to, but at the end there could be a link that says "Read More".

That link would take you to the documentation for that specific error, where Steemit could explain what exactly happened, and what to do about it. This solution frees up space on Steemit.com's website, yet allows for even larger and more detailed summaries of the error on the documentation website.

Thanks for reading my post, and hopefully Steemit can see this soon enough! I'm adding this as a contribution to steemit/condenser which is Steemit's repository for their website's web interface (where the error messages are compiled).


Thanks for reading,
@mooncryption

note: Though I don't have a witness myself, @reggaemuffin does a lot to help minnows and users, so I strongly encourage you to vote for his witness or set @mooncryption as your proxy :)


Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

For eight days I was prohibited from doing transactions on my account due to the following message "Error Non-base58 character". A lot of very well intentioned people tried, but could not help me. No one could explain what exactly the error meant. I am so with you on this post! Eventually I solved the problem myself by switching browsers. Have no clue why that worked. Good luck and safe travels. Will follow.

Exactly! I've seen many garbled errors like yours; hopefully Steemit changes the errors to be more readable so people actually know what's going on!

Thanks for your support :)

Exactly this! Condenser should shield us from these rpc messages tgat make sense to developers but not to users.

I made it a habit to check my page before I try again. My witness update almost got posted twice 😅

Happened to me as well! I accidentally posted an article twice last week and started freaking out. Luckily nobody had voted on my duplicate post, and I was able to "delete" it.

Exactly what I do....after my first duplicate post last week, I've a 2nd tab to check my post when I see an error message, usually is 50/50% that it went through.

They should put that on the Steemit Welcome Page

'When you see this glitch Transmission broadcast error, do refresh your webpage on a 2nd tab because there is a 50% chance your post could have been submitted'

haha...Up-Voted @reggaemuffin cause you mention it before I did!

That is what i alwys do immediately i got the error code, i will check my page if it has posted because it will be a mess seeing one post appearing like 4 times @reggaemuffin

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @xtdevelopment that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @xtdevelopment.
@xtdevelopment is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @xtdevelopment.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Congratulations @mooncryption! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yes! Yes yes yes! I will be happy to help write such a document if I only knew how and where to start...

I have an idea how to change it and I'll nag you for good error texts 😜

Yes please! You know where to find me and my dikdiky madness.

Same here! However, writing such a document would require me to know what these errors meant... and since I don't, unfortunately I can't do it!

Hi @mooncryption, I just got that error myself.

A scary thought: I'm wondering if even with a 20 seconds delay between post, I wonder if a DDOS BOT that says control 10,000 steemit account can crash/clog-up the Steem BlockChain?

Hey ceo @ned & cto @sneak ....any comments? 🙄

I think someone need to bring up hacking at utopian.io (seriously I think this is weakness)

There are bandwidth limitations in steem 😜🐐

Hey @mooncryption I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 41% Power!

Achievements

-Good amount of information. Thank you!
-A very informative contribution. Good job!
-Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
-You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
-You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!
Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one.

EXCELLENT idea.
I've been pounding on that drum forever.

Steemit got huge potential but just like in the case you describe, there's still a lot of work ahead before it gets really enjoyable for the normal user :)

Exactly, I think it's pretty upsetting for a newbie trying to write their first post on Steemit being greeted with one of these messages.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82