I need help! Steemit Widgets: Steemconnect Integration

in #utopian-io7 years ago

steemconnect-header.png

My Widgets Plugin was the first thing I developed for the Steemit community. I don't know how many people are using it but a hand full at least. I think it's a pretty handy tool for everyone who runs a website. You can add profiles, feeds and even single posts to your website, with only a few clicks. The styles/templates are completely customizable.

I would really like to further improve this tool but on the other hand there are so many other things I'd love to work on and so I want to use Utopian to find other developers interested in joining the project. The whole thing consists of two parts.

The Plugin

The plugin itself is just a javascript file that wraps the SteemJS library and provides easy to use methods to add content from Steemit.com to a given container on your website.

<h1>My Steemit Blog</h1>
<div id="my-blog"></div>
<script src="https://cdn.steemjs.com/lib/latest/steem.min.js"></script>
<script src="https://mktcode.github.io/steemit-widgets/assets/js/steemit-widgets.min.js"></script>
<script>
    steemitWidgets.blog({
        element: 'my-blog',
        user: 'your-username'
    });
</script>

The Generator

The plugin alone does not come with any styling or templates. You need to provide your own html via the template option and use placeholders that will be replaced by the actual content. The generator however lets you choose from a variety of display options and two customizable predefined styles. The result will be a ready to use code that you can just paste into your website as this jsfiddle demonstrates.

Task Request: Steemconnect

A really cool feature would be Steemconnect integration to allow users to vote and comment directly from the widgets. Unfortunately the current architecture doesn't really allow this because the widgets are directly inserted into the DOM of the concerned website. Since Steemconnect only redirects you to a fixed configured location I don't think it is possible to automatically implement it in the different websites using the widgets.

The flow I have in mind looks like this:

flow.png

As far as I understand, the widgets therefore need to be implemented via an iframe that loads the widget from the same domain as the confirmation page, but I'm not sure.

That's why I need your help. If anyone knows how to properly integrate commenting and voting, I would highly appreciate your participation.

I already created an account and an app for steemconnect.

@steemit-widgets

So the init call would look like this:

sc2.init({
    baseURL: 'https://v2.steemconnect.com',
    app: 'steemit-widgets',
    callbackURL: 'https://mktcode.github.io/steemit-widgets',
    scope: ['vote', 'comment']
});

I can't promise a guaranteed bounty but I think at least the money this post generates will be yours.

GitHub Repository

Please have a look at the code and share your ideas with me! Not only about the steemconnect integration but about the project as a whole. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me. You can contact me on steemit.chat and discord (mkt in both cases).

You can also find this project on steemprojects.com: https://steemprojects.com/projects/p/steemit-widgets/

I don't know if this "Task Request" sounds interesting or engaging but please, test those widgets, check it out and contact me and let's talk. I really would love to see some progress on this project. As I mentioned, this is my first contribution to the Steem community so to say and I would be really happy if it survives a few more days.


DQmNv1zxujkKXH4LvDbDCzqQamLHesp1PpocBwPTpMHPdzf_1680x8400.png

@mkt
Interests:
Technology/Science/Future
Nature/Environment/Sustainability
Creativity/Programming



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I have been extremely close to making this work many times but it has been so frustrating that I finally just deleted everything and hope that someone smarter than me can figure it out. If not I'll start from scratch on it and do it the old way which ia doable. I would be willing to pitch in some sbd or steem to help get this done.

Yea, @mkt would you be interested in collaborating on the @steemfleamarket project? @binkley and I've been thinking about this for a while now and your widget sounds like a perfect match made in heaven.

It sounds interesting! I think Steem needs such a marketplace. I'm currently busy with the utopian translations but if you poke me from time to time I'm sure I can help. :)

Hey @mkt I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you at 12% Power!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Definitely going to check this tool out and can DEFINITELY see it being of use...

This would be great! No matter if you're a user or a developer. All the feedback is VERY welcome!

For sure this is possible with SteemConnect V1. As far as I remember I was at least possible on hexo-steem: https://steemprojects.com/projects/p/hexo-steem/

I am not sure about SCV2

That's exactly my problem. I know how to do this with SC1 but I didn't use SC2 yet.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey,
Any update? Would be awesome to see your tool being able to upvote!

No sorry, I'm currently busy with other things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33