Steem’s fair-weather friends - December update on user retention numbers

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

You may find the title provocative. You may even think it sounds a little negative. But in fact there’s an important point to be made. You’ll have to read through to the end to find out what it is.

FairweatherFriends.png

User retention statistics are notoriously difficult to measure. This is particularly true for an environment like the steem blockchain where:

  • There are numerous different ways to participate. For example we have posting and commenting, reading articles or viewing videos, as well as curating (upvoting and downvoting);
  • Some of the above actions can be automated and so may be performed by bots. These automated actions may continue long after an account has stopped actively using the platform. Curation in particular can fall into this category;
  • Not all of the actions can be reliably measured through the information sources available. Currently viewer and reader numbers are not easily harvested and there are doubts over the accuracy of the measures being shown.

I undertook my last study of user numbers and user retention just over one month ago. Given the above complications I decided upon the following definition for an active account:

Active account = Account which has posted or commented within the last thirty days

The definition is subjective and the measure, thirty days, is an arbitrary figure based simply on my experience of the blockchain over the last six months. I think it feels about right. One or two weeks could be a holiday but if you haven’t posted or commented in the last month you’re falling into the category of inactive.


November analysis

In my last analysis I used the above definition to look at the percentage of accounts that are still active (i.e. those accounts that had posted within the last thirty days). I then charted the results grouped by account joining date to see if older accounts were stickier.

I also looked at the percentage of accounts that were still posting thirty days after their joining date. This was intended as a measure of how quickly people buy-in to or turn away from the platform.

These were the results:

Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 17.41.22.png
(Note that only those accounts that have posted or commented were included).

Overall, not a particularly positive picture. User retention was drifting along at around 10%; a worryingly low level. This was the case irrespective of joining date over 2017.

For the second metric, around 40%-60% of users stopping posting within 30 days of their join date: broadly somewhere around half of all users.


December analysis

So how has the picture changed over the last month? We have a backdrop of rapidly rising steem and SBD prices and greater press coverage of cryptocurrencies. Have these factors translated through a more attractive proposition and increased user retention?

Here is the same analysis one month further on:

Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 19.20.50.png

Immediately we can see a gradual incline in the percentage of accounts still posting (the blue line) pointing to improved user retention for accounts that signed up to the blockchain more recently.

But if we look more closely, we can also see that there is in fact a rise in user retention irrespective of joining date; from our previous figure of around 10% to something closer to 20%.

I have to admit, this threw me a little at first. So I drew up a comparison to look at the figures more closely:

Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 18.01.09.png

There's a clear impact. The user retention has moved up closer to the 20% level across all joining dates. What could this mean? Well, the only thing I could think of is that we are seeing users returning to action. That is to say, users who had previously stopped posting have put their fingers to the keys once again. And in significant numbers.

To investigate this phenomenon I looked at all accounts on the blockchain that had posted or commented and broke down their activity by month. Here are the results:

  • In green we have the month in which the account first posted.
  • In red we have accounts which stopped posting in the month (i.e. users who posted in the previous month but did not post in the month in question).
  • In blue we have accounts which restarted posting in the month (i.e. users who did not post in the previous month but did post in the month in question).

Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 18.08.43.png

Immediately we can see a huge number of accounts (11.5k) returned to posting in December after being inactive in November. Given the rise in user retention across all joining dates, some of these users will have been inactive for a significant period of time.


As a final comparison I looked at the net movement in poster numbers from the above chart (shown below in gold) and overlaid the end of month steem price. As might be expected, there's a clear impact from the currency price on poster numbers. When the steem price rises we see more posters. Previously this took the form of a rush of new accounts. Now we're also seeing a surge in poster numbers from returning users.

Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 18.19.36.png

This brings us to the important point to be registered. To some greater or lesser extent, the value of the steem blockchain and steem currency will be influenced by user numbers. Whilst user retention numbers in the past have been fairly poor, there are clearly large numbers of inactive users still interested in this blockchain. Whether they exist as readers and viewers, as passive curators, or whether they have returned from completely off the grid is not clear. However there remains untapped potential which can be enticed back into a more active role under the right conditions. This is another avenue of growth that is worth investigating.


Questions

That's all for today.

If you have any questions or spot any errors please do not hesitate to leave a comment!
Thanks for reading!


Methodology and Tools for Analysis

Tools

Raw data was obtained through sql queries of steemsql using Valentina Studio.
Data was analysed in LibreOffice and illustrated in Numbers (spreadsheet tools).
Data was obtained for various timescales, including a particular focus on 2017 and the comparison between studies in November and December.

SQL query
I used the following SQL query:

SELECT
    CONVERT(date, Accounts.created) AS [AccountStart], 
    CONVERT(date, Accounts.last_post) AS [LastCommentOrPost],
    datediff (day, CONVERT(date, Accounts.created), CONVERT(date, Accounts.last_post)) AS [stayDuration],
    Count(Accounts.name) AS [Accounts]
FROM
    Accounts (NOLOCK)
WHERE
    Accounts.post_count > 0 
GROUP BY
   CONVERT(date, Accounts.created),
   CONVERT(date, Accounts.last_post),
   datediff (day, CONVERT(date, Accounts.created), CONVERT(date, Accounts.last_post))



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Very nice analysis there min tiger. I looked at the total accounts produced and the number of daily active users and calculated a rough estimate of ~6%. (This was off of another blog that used data from the Steemit blockchain)

A summery may be that people are attracted to $$$, Steem price up = a return to the platform and in general, more posts.

As always with stats the result will depend on which ones you choose!

Total accounts (543k) will include lots of sock puppets.
Accounts which have posted or commented at least once (238k) is about 44% of the total accounts.

The daily active user stat also depends on how you define active, for example whether someone who only posts once every two weeks is still active.

But you're right, the overall message is that there are users that will return to the platform if the financial conditions are attractive.

Great analysis. I'm one of these accounts who come back in December after 3 months inactive... well not 100% inactive but with my steemvoter on...inactive to your analysis point of view, which I found very interesting way of measuring activity. Hit right on the mark .

Thanks! Great to hear from someone who fits the analysis! May I ask what brought you back to the platform?

I stopped posting for a few weeks to focus on an article I was writing for my college, and then I ended up delaying my return, the weeks went by and I do not know why it took me so long to go back. A few days ago I went to play a poker game at steem poker league @spl and I realized they were commenting on how SBD had gone up in value. When I saw how much up, dang!
I regretted a lot for being inactive during this time. I was having good rewards before I stopped posting ...anyway, this day the SBD was about 11USD.
The SBD price over USD was the thing that made me come back at this point? Yes.
If SBD goes back to $1 USD I will stop again? Honestly I don't think I will.
I really don't know if SBD is going up or down right now but I will not stop posting anymore because now I'm engaging more with communitys like the brazilians on steemit, portuguese speakers, utopian-io and others.
I'm seeing the steem communtity very motivated about how 2018 is going to be. And this is motivating me too.
Basically that was it.

Thanks for that answer; honest and helpful to hear how people can be drawn back.
And +1 for the lucksacks team. Reminds me I must get back to the tables soon!

See you there. Team registration for next league season is open atm. I'm already in a team. There is a channel for team_up on the discord to find team mates =]

Those are definitely some interesting statistics. I need to go through my "following" list and see who's not been posting at all. I know of one who's completely powering down and is about cashed out and hasn't posted in about a month. Shame too. He posted a lot of cool stuff.

I'm glad I decided to stick around even though STEEM was declining most of the first few months I was here.

I think you made the right choice!

I know from the content of my feed list that a lot of people I follow aren't posting anymore. Still, I was surprised to see the figures showing so many users coming back to posting, so maybe they're still out there lurking! Post if you're out there people!

Yep I agree. Even if it's just a couple of times a week that's better than nothing. I got really busy at my regular job the last 3 months of 2017 so my posting frequency declined a lot. I had been posting almost once a day my first two months here.

Another thing I've noticed is the amount of resteems seems to be on the rise. It seems like my feed used to be more actual posts than resteems but lately there's more resteems most days and a lot of people I don't see post anymore. But some still are actually creating their own content.

Def fair weather description is on target

Ha! That's just what popped into my head from looking at the last chart. More money, more posters!

Damn... that's like looking at myself as a stat. Opened my account in august 2017... posted for a while. then couldn't cause my computer crashed and i didn't have one for a few months and then i restarted posting again in december.
I honestly have mad amounts of admiration for you and the way you use your skills on steemit and release these stats! wouldn't know where to start! so glad i found your posts early on. glad to be following!
Happy New Year! May you have a 'to the moon' 2018!

Thank you for reading them! And Happy New Year and all the best for 2018 to you too!

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Wow! This is the level of detail I love to see. Your post is informative, well written, and interesting to follow. Your use of graphics is spot on, and the results are valuable to a lot of people.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you @dutch. Very kind comments. I'm glad to know my post is of use!

Hey @miniature-tiger I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Congratulations @miniature-tiger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Woot!

I had missed this one. Some great comments above or what!

Yes! Was really interesting to get some views on why people went away and what drew them back. Always nice when comments back up the analysis, even anecdotally!

Yes indeed, very rewarding to have this happen!

I've been wondering about a 'curie retention' analysis for a while now. Did you do one in the past?

Might end up similar in query structure - something like for those who got 'curied' in their steemit career, did they last longer than the accounts that didn't?

I had a request from @geekgirl a few days back to talk though how I did the same analysis for OCD. She's planning a similar Curie analysis.

OCD had somewhere around 80% retention, so way above the average. It will be interesting to see how Curie compares.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83