[SteemSQL Wrapper] Make Queries Shareable Implementation

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Summary

Last week I submitted a feature idea for @emptyname's SteemSQL Wrapper project. I reached out to him on Discord and asked about implementing it myself, and he gave me the green light! My PR has been merged and deployed, so here's a summary of what I did.

Demo

New Feature: Make Queries Shareable

If you click on this link, it will take you to the SQL query shown in the video above. Queries can now be represented as URL links, which can be shared, bookmarked, etc. This makes it easy to share reports or show other people data - instead of giving them a link to the wrapper and a query to paste in, you can just give them a link!

This was done by encoding the query as a URL parameter. You can see in the video or in your browser that when the user clicks the Share Query link, the URL changes. We add on ?sql_query=SELECT..., where SELECT... is the URL-encoded query. Then, when the page is reloaded, we parse the querystring to get the original SQL statement and input it into the browser.

More examples: example_1 example_2 example_3

Proof of Work

I list my username as @maxg in the Pull Request



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I need to start looking at how to use this. It sounds useful!

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Great tool, easy to use. Just like this

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @maxg I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

cool postings can only be born by great people. hopefully I can be like you in getting a vote. because I have very little sound when I write something. your writing is an inspiration to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61911.99
ETH 2585.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56