A new logo for RedReader

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Hello,
this is a new design for a RedReader logo. It is an open source Reddit client for Android, with many features. RedReader in app store

redd.png

I decided to create a logo for this project, because the old one is not very original and it looks a little outdated. There are many options how to make a better design according to the title.

I started with sketching some ideas.

wsetg.png

I wanted the logo to be fresh, simple, original and maybe a little cute. When I had some vision I started to draw it in CorelDraw. I made a few versions.

redddrd.png
redr.png

Finally I chose the simplest one.

654.png

It is obvious that the color should be red according to the title, but I wanted to add at least some interesting gradient and shades, so it would not be just some boring red.

When the icon was made I started to search for some suitable font. I wanted it to fit to the shapes of the icon, which was not easy, because it is very round with some smooth corners too.

redr2.png

Finaly Montserrat won.

sdgs.png

The logo is simple, yet modern and stylish. It can be used as icon too and looks good in one color variant and also in a small size. When we compare it with the old logo it is more original and fresh.

rrr.png
sdfg.png

awrz.png

Tools and Original files

I used CorelDraw

Original files

Github link

Font



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

The work is Creative commons.

Sort:  

Hi @marty-arts, I'm the developer of RedReader.

Thank you so much for creating this logo, it looks a lot better than the current one. I'm considering using this for the icon of the app.

Before I go ahead, I just wanted to confirm what level of attribution would be acceptable for CC-BY?

Would it be okay if I credited you on:

  • The main page on GitHub, and
  • In a list of contributors inside the app itself?

Obviously the logo will be used in lots of places (app stores, marketing, screenshots, etc) so if I credited you in the two places above, would that be enough?

Thank you again, and hope to hear back from you!

Hello @quantumbadger, Im really glad you like my logo and of course, you are free to use it in any place you want.
It is enough to mention me on those two places :)

I said you are person with thousand talents @marty-arts.

Good work.

Thanks @marty-arts .. I so admire thy thanks you have mengupvote me. @noisse is a single man who has lived many years. Later I will make a poem my offer to you.

I think we have enough of these contributions to pitchit to the project owner.

very nice logo design my friend

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Awesome logo! Love it <3

Hey @marty-arts I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46