Koler - The best alternative Android call app

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Introduction

A few days ago, I was going through my steemit feeds. When I came across a review about a call manager app. The features described in this review got my attention. So I decided to give the app a try.
After days of using this app, I decided to share my thought about this app.
Making and receiving calls, storing people's contacts these are the essential functions of our mobile device. And to perform these functions, our phones need a call managing app. Which in most phones, call apps are called 'phones.'
In this post, I'll be reviewing an alternative to our phones call app named koler.

What is Koler?

screenshots.png
source
Koler is an Android application that enables user's place calls, view contact, call history. Koler works just as your phones default call managing app but with more interesting features which I'll be discussing later on.
To further understand what koler is, here's a description from its developer.
'A uniquely stylized phone app, with customizable features - for Android.'

Project info

The app is owned by Chooloo. The initial release of this app was on May 22nd, 2019.
The project owner has released a total of 11 versions since its first release.
The last version of this app is v0.3.1, which is what I'm currently using.

The changes done during the last updates includes
New themes! Light, Dark, and AMOLED. Also the option to choose between two different accent colors). New About page (with a donation link, if you would be so kind), New Biometrics security stuff and things, new dialer, various bug fixes, and stuff oh boy.

Getting started

Screenshot_20190706-162938.png

  • Download Koler from its play store link
  • Launch the app after installation.
  • A pop up will appear showing the list of all the updates and the changes done during each update. Read and click OK.
  • Next is to make Koler your default dialer app.
    You're now ready to use Koler.

Features

I said earlier that Koler works exactly like every phone default dialer app but with interesting features. So in this section, I'll be discussing Koler unique features.

Interface
Screenshot_20190705-220122.png
When reviewing an app. I love starting from its interface because of two reasons.
Firstly, it's the first thing to notice when using an app. Secondly, I'm not a fan of apps with a bad interface.
But in the case of Koler, I was impressed with its beautiful and minimalistic design. I also love how the icons and buttons are well arranged. It wasn't stressful to use. The swipe feature also makes it's easy to navigate through different tabs.
Another thing that made me love the app, even more was the fact that there is an option to change themes. There are six different beautiful themes to choose from, and my favorite is the 'AMOLED PINKISH.'
In general, the developer's did a spectacular job with the design of this app.

Excel
Screenshot_20190706-204300.png
This feature is another interesting feature of this app. Cos I haven't seen this feature on any default mobile call app. I was able to import a spreadsheet with contacts into the contact list. The issue I faced was the app keeps crashing each time I try accessing the contact. I reported a similar issue to the PO, but I haven't gotten any response from him. But I'll do my best to let him be aware of this issue.

Security
Screenshot_20190705-220231.png
Before using this app, I've never seen any phone's dialer or call managing app with its security feature. Koler is the first call managing app I've seen with its security measures. The app uses a biometric security feature. I was able to successfully block every unauthorized access to my contacts and call logs by enabling the biometric lock.
Kudos to the developer for introducing this feature.

Answer and End Call timer
This feature allows users to set the time they want the app to answer or end incoming calls automatically. Or set time to end an outgoing call. I noticed that this feature had not been fully implemented. What I mean by this is that there is an option to input the answer and End call time in the app's settings, but no option to trigger this feature. Maybe in future updates, it will.

Comparing Koler with my phone's default call app.

Screenshot_20190706-223425.png

Screenshot_20190705-221544.png

I decided to compare these two apps because most people tend to use their phones inbuilt call app.

Basic feature
When it comes to Basic features like creating, deleting, and sharing of contacts. All this feature are present in my default call app. But currently not available in Koler.

Interface
Both apps use material design. But I prefer Koler design to my phones call app. Also, because Koler has different theme options while my default call app has only one theme.

Security
Koler has a biometrics security feature while no security feature is available in my default call app. So I'm secured using Koler, which is a feeling I love.

Pros and Cons of Koler

Pros

  • Great interface with themes option
  • It's secured

Cons

  • Lacks basic features like saving, deleting contacts, etc.
  • Crashes when using some features

Conclusion

After using and comparing my phones call app with Koler. I'm more than excited to make Koler my new call app. You can also try this app out and let me know what you think about it.

Resources

This content expresses my thought, and personal view of this app and also the images used on this post are from my usage screenshot.

Links

Koler Github link
My Github account

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution. However, the post is not as detailed as I would like. Aside from learning about the app’s basic features, there is nothing much here. I advise you to make your future posts more extensive with thoughts and your experiences. Plus, when choosing a project to promote, I suggest that you choose high-level projects. This app is too basic.

Further, the post had some presentation issues. I will cite a few.

New Biometrics security stuff and things, new dialer, various bug fixes, and stuff oh boy.

What did you mean by ‘’security stuff and things’’? Plus, what is ‘’and stuff oh boy’’?

I’ve never seen any phone’s dialer or call managing app with its security feature.

Which security feature? I think you meant: ‘’with a security feature’’. The way you phrased that seems like you are referring to a specific feature somewhere. It is unclear.

Overall, this is a decent effort. Thank you, hoping to receive better contributions from you.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @tykee! Keep up the good work!

Hi @macspeaks!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @macspeaks!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85